We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value added B&B in a gorgeous home/estate.”
Review of Ballinsheen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinsheen House
Ranked #1 of 16 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value added B&B in a gorgeous home/estate.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Mary supplied us with the most wonderful experience. If we could have changed our travel plans we would have stayed there for a week. Beautiful!!! If you haven't firmed up your Irish va-ca, make plans to visit Ballinsheen House in Lisdoonvarna

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnlgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.We do appreciate it.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Ballinsheen House ..and hope
to see you again in the future.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Traveling with friends on a road trip around southern Ireland, we stayed with Mary for two nights while we were in the Burren area. It was a truly delightful experience. The rooms were spotless and the house has two lovely sitting areas. Mary was so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishrose211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
its always appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
and hope to welcome you back some time.
Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our 5 clean and tasteful rooms were ready despite the fact that we arrived early. Mary is eager to please and serve and was always there to help. Breakfast was delicious. The location is good and the rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There are beautiful sitting rooms to enjoy so we bought food and brought it back with wine and beer for dinner in the spacious dining room. I was ill upon arrival and Mary ensured that I was settled in our room quickly. While the rest of the group golfed on our last day, Mary allowed me to stay in a comfortable sitting room and kept checking on me to see if I needed anything. We highly recommend Ballinsheen House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Sharon

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed our sitting rooms and
breakfast...in Ballinsheen House..
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your friends.

Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at Ballinsheen in April and was absolutely perfect! Mary was very welcoming and provided an excellent recommendation for dinner within walking distance. The room was beautiful and so comfortable. It was by far our best and favorite night visiting Ireland. Looking forward to the next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669CaitlinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review.we do appreciate it.
I'm very glad you picked us as your best and favourite night in Ireland.

We hope to see you back in Ballinsheen House again soon.
Kind regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Funny, when I think of my two favorite small B & B s in Ireland I think of Greenmount House in Dingle and Ballinsheen House in Lisdoonvarna! Our most expensive to least expensive stays! Haha! They are completely different but Ballinsheen was such a great value. It is a charming place and Mary was very welcoming. Our room while small but not too small was clean and comfortable with a nice window looking outside to the front. This was our first stay in Ireland and we were a little late and exhausted. Mary was so welcoming we felt at home right away. The breakfast room was charming and a wonderful Irish breakfast was served. Honestly good value and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a tripadviser review..much appreciated.
I am happy that you enjoyed our conservatory and breakfast ...It was a pleasure to
welcome you to Ballinsheen House and the Burren region.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A warm welcome with fantastic hospitality. The room was great, well presented and immaculately clean. Free wifi was important and great to have too. Breakfast was excellent especially the smoked salmon and poached eggs. Would recommend to anyone and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyduke2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review ..it is much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Lisdoonvarna..
and do hope to see you in the future.

Regards
Mary & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three of us stayed with Mary for one night in September. this was the most well appointed B&B we stayed in in Ireland. The artwork on the walls is beautiful and interesting, with may pieices coming from Africa. An unusual treat in rural Ireland!
The room was very pleasant and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review.
Glad you enjoyed our home/Art work and our breakfast.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland.

Mary & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.6 mi away
Wild Honey Inn
Wild Honey Inn
#5 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elements Guest House
Elements Guest House
#2 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinsheen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinsheen House

Property: Ballinsheen House
Address: Galway Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinsheen House is a spacious architect designed home surrounded by mature trees with beautiful landscaped gardens.Enjoy the tranquillity of the countryside while being 5 minutes walk from the town centre. . All rooms are en-suite. TV,hairdryers tea/coffee facilities in all rooms. Free WiFi is available with your own Laptop. We offer a full breakfast menu in our spacious dining room/conservatory.Recommended by Rick Steves,Rough Guide,Guide du Routard and Gao Guide Gallimard.Faile Ireland graded 4**** country home and AA graded 4**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ballinsheen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinsheen House Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing