We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballinsheen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinsheen House
Ranked #1 of 16 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at Ballinsheen in April and was absolutely perfect! Mary was very welcoming and provided an excellent recommendation for dinner within walking distance. The room was beautiful and so comfortable. It was by far our best and favorite night visiting Ireland. Looking forward to the next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669CaitlinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review.we do appreciate it.
I'm very glad you picked us as your best and favourite night in Ireland.

We hope to see you back in Ballinsheen House again soon.
Kind regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Funny, when I think of my two favorite small B & B s in Ireland I think of Greenmount House in Dingle and Ballinsheen House in Lisdoonvarna! Our most expensive to least expensive stays! Haha! They are completely different but Ballinsheen was such a great value. It is a charming place and Mary was very welcoming. Our room while small but not too small was clean and comfortable with a nice window looking outside to the front. This was our first stay in Ireland and we were a little late and exhausted. Mary was so welcoming we felt at home right away. The breakfast room was charming and a wonderful Irish breakfast was served. Honestly good value and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a tripadviser review..much appreciated.
I am happy that you enjoyed our conservatory and breakfast ...It was a pleasure to
welcome you to Ballinsheen House and the Burren region.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A warm welcome with fantastic hospitality. The room was great, well presented and immaculately clean. Free wifi was important and great to have too. Breakfast was excellent especially the smoked salmon and poached eggs. Would recommend to anyone and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyduke2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review ..it is much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Lisdoonvarna..
and do hope to see you in the future.

Regards
Mary & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three of us stayed with Mary for one night in September. this was the most well appointed B&B we stayed in in Ireland. The artwork on the walls is beautiful and interesting, with may pieices coming from Africa. An unusual treat in rural Ireland!
The room was very pleasant and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review.
Glad you enjoyed our home/Art work and our breakfast.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland.

Mary & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A friend and I had one night in our ireland itinerary that we hadn't pre-booked, because we weren't sure if we'd stay longer in the Galway area or not. So when we decided to head south and pop in on the Lisdoonvarna Matchmaker Festival, I looked on Trip Advisor for a recommended B&B for that night.

The host, Mary, returned my email immediately to say that Ballinsheen House had a "family" room available, which was perfect for my friend and me. (The B&B had been booked solid the day before AND the day after, so we were fortunate.)

Communcation was easy and thorough. We arrived on time and got checked in quickly. The room was comfy and quiet; and the shower, although not as updated as ones in other B&Bs where we'd stayed, was strong, which is always a big plus with me.

Breakfast was just the 2 of us, and I'm glad Mary had time for a brief chat. She is so very friendly. She told us that earlier in September, she'd learned that everyone staying at her B&B had met their spouse at the Matchmaker Festival on previous years!

So we were grateful to find a room at a nice place, with a friendly host, an easy walk from the center of town.

Room Tip: Our door was a big tricky, with the key, so we were making quite a bit of noise just getting in/out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buymeaticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with Mary at her beautiful home in Lisdoonvarna. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good and served in a room looking out to all her flower gardens. We would recommend this place to anyone traveling to the area. We only have one small hitch. During the month of September the town holds a "Match Making" festival which may have been why our bed had a plastic cover under the fitted sheet. It made our first night a sweaty and uncomfortable nights sleep. The following night we removed it and slept well so not a big problem. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinChris2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and felt very much at home. Mary is a warm welcoming hostess who puts much care and attention into this lovely home. The breakfast is beautiful with so much to choose from. A wonderful base to explore the Cliffs of Moher, the wonderful and interesting landscape of The Burren and the quaint towns in the area. The Burren perfumery is well worth a visit! Mary and her husband were so kind the morning we left helping us making sure our luggage was the right weight before we flew out and loaning us some great scales - thank you we have now purchased our own set and couldn't travel without them! Wish we could have stayed longer as there was so much more to explore! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellynMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.5 mi away
Wild Honey Inn
Wild Honey Inn
#2 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elements Guest House
Elements Guest House
#3 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinsheen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinsheen House

Property: Ballinsheen House
Address: Galway Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinsheen House is a spacious architect designed home surrounded by mature trees with beautiful landscaped gardens.Enjoy the tranquillity of the countryside while being 5 minutes walk from the town centre. . All rooms are en-suite. TV,hairdryers tea/coffee facilities in all rooms. Free WiFi is available with your own Laptop. We offer a full breakfast menu in our spacious dining room/conservatory.Recommended by Rick Steves,Rough Guide,Guide du Routard and Gao Guide Gallimard.Faile Ireland graded 4**** country home and AA graded 4**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballinsheen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinsheen House Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing