We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roadside Tavern

The Roadside Tavern
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PUB OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND 10AM TILL LATE FOOD SERVED FROM MARCH UNTIL NOVEMBER 12-4 6-9 EVERYDAY Last orders 8.45 In spring 2011, Peter Curtin embarked on a new endeavour: He set up the Burren Brewery in the Roadside Tavern in Lisdoonvarna. The building, which in 1865 started off as a pub, then was expanded into a bakery, now also harbours a micro-brewery under its roof. At the same time it is an eatery and a renowned music venue for traditional and contemporary music. Peter realised very quickly how complicated and time-consuming it was to brew his own beer - it really is a labour of love. He enrolled the help of a Master Brewer, and the result can now be tasted in the Roadside Tavern: The Burren Gold is a delicious, characterful lager. The mainstream lagers available every-where just cannot compete with this one!The Burren Red with its great red colour is a spicy, slightly sweet ale which even features a hint of smoke. It seems to become the favourite among the punters at the Roadside! The Burren Black is a stout that does not have to fear the competition of a certain other black stuff. It is smooth and full-bodied, with a creamy crown of froth on top - and definitely alive inside! A heavenly drink.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited here last week and have to say this was by far the best food we had on our trip. Fantastic pub serving 5 star food. Wish we could have had more time here as everything was amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhoustan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    145
    34
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Eat here on the bank holiday Sunday was met with a warm welcome. We were lucky to even get a table, the friendly staff took our order. The food was wonderful. Has to be one of the high light of our stay in Ireland. When we come back to Ireland we will make an other trip to the road side tavern for the good food and music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee-and-jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited this bar while on a coach holiday in lisdoonvara. Friendly staff, good atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlythCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Roadside Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We called in for dinner on a Tuesday evening .
We were warmly greeted by the barman who recommended a taste of Burren Black , the stout that
is brewed on site, for my husband . He LOVED it ! So pints were ordered and we settled in for a
night of craic and good food and the best stout ever !
We had a delicious soup to start and beef and stout stew with mash and a smoked salmon salad
(the salmon was from the Burren Smoke House and the bread was made with Burren Black ) . The food was delicious and the service was friendly and attentive.
At around 9pm the musicians arrived . There was a great trad session that lasted all night .
This pub has it all : nice staff, good food , great drink and relaxed ambience .
Wish it was my local !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloraMCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good stopped on the road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We were driving, coming back from Cliffs of Moher and stopped to have a lunch. We were surprised with the good ambience, reception and food. I had a very good soup and my busband drank a very good beer made by themselves.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaraAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roadside Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Roadside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing