We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful yet simple”

Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small family run Restaurant, Café and Deli situated on the main street in Oughterard serving homemade meals, cakes and breads using Fresh, Seasonal, Locally Sourced Produce! Wines and local beers too! Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Full Evening menu. Reservations Taken.
clifden county Galway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful yet simple”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

A lovely but simple place. I have been there twice and have been impressed by the style of the place, added to by the friendly owners and staff. Johnnie takes time to talk to everyone. Maria bakes delicious cakes. The menu is small but well chosen. They also have an interesting deli with chees, pate, smoked salmon and the like for sale, they also do a good trade in take away cakes and buns.
I look forward to going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank breandanoscanaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    42
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Visited twice whilst on holiday, once for lunch and later for an evening meal. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and very welcoming host. Good choice and quality of food which was well presented. Would recommend and definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Deserves a major award”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

After our first visit last Saturday, we visited almost every day for our week's stay in Oughterade. It was so good!

This is a remarkable little gem of a place and only open nine weeks.

The food is outstanding. We travel to many places and eat out regularly and you won't get better food than here anywhere. The desserts, cakes, breads are all homemade. The meals are cooked to order by the remarkable chef, Marie. Her husband John is front of house and does it wonderfully. He recalls visitors from previous days and remembers bits of information from our conversations. He's ideal for his task. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple and even when I asked for only half a quiche that's what I was given!

They are working so hard and are going to do very well indeed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martianpoolwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade food.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

It's a lovely place you will find on the main road in Oughterard.
They have good products cooked with originality and passion. All well dressed and tasty.
We enjoyed a lot our time there. The owner is very nice and the music good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy charm”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Called into the greenway cafe for brunch as a group of 5 on our way to Connemara, delicious bacon and Brie sandwich, fresh salad and great cappuccino. Lovely relaxed ambience and food served by the proprietor with a welcoming easy charm. Will definitely return to sample the more extensive menu. A welcome addition to Oughterard. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Oughterard, County Galway
 
Oughterard, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing