We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small cafe, lovely food”

Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small family run Restaurant, Café and Deli situated on the main street in Oughterard serving homemade meals, cakes and breads using Fresh, Seasonal, Locally Sourced Produce! Wines and local beers too! Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Full Evening menu. Reservations Taken.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small cafe, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Seafood chowder and amazing home-made cakes! Friendly service, good value. Also has small deli section to buy food to take away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank xyz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    41
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had lunch in your lovely cafe/restaurant on Wednesday. Both of us ordered seafood chowder and homemade brown bread. It was delicious. The best I have tasted in a long time. For dessert we had apple tart and cream. It was beautiful and tasted like more. We were served by Melisa. She was so helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back for more of your wonderful home cooked food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find "off-the-beaten-track"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our research had told us that the dining in Ireland was world class, but had thought that once we left the big towns, we'd have to 'rough it'.
The food here really was something special. Both the lamb stew and smoked salmon we ordered were exceptional - very flavoursome and we were informed used ingredients from local farms and river. We both had a pastry for dessert, obviously freshly made that morning. The service was super-friendly and welcoming. The gentleman who served us was very charming, enjoyed answering our questions about our orders and made us both great coffee to accompany our dessert. I'm recommending this to my friends as an essential stop for anyone travelling Galway and enjoys food & dining

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveDaGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really tasty good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have eaten twice in this cafe/restaurant and both times were delighted with our meals. Tasty, fresh and healthy food and yummy desserts. A very welcome addition to Oughterard.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a beautiful café with lots of charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I visited this cafe yesterday and again today, really lovely staff and a menu that had something for everyone. Yesterday I had quiche with side salad of organic leaves (fab) followed by a cappuccino hthe kids had soup, homemade. I will be back in the next few weeks for a late lunch and have a glass of wine, as a treat and desert. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Oughterard, County Galway
 
Oughterard, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing