We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfall Lodge Oughterard, Ireland”
Review of Waterfall Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oughterard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterfall Lodge
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waterfall Lodge Oughterard, Ireland”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a beautiful setting, wonderful breakfast menu, beautiful home, and magnificent hosts at the Waterfall Lodge for the start of a 6 day bicycle tour in Ireland. You will truly enjoy the setting of their home as you listen to the water streaming by the beautifully kept gardens and lawn.

Howard Kutler
Omaha, Nebraska

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Many thanks to Kathleen, and this magical picturesque home in Oughterard, for the wonderful stay, I only wish we would have had a lot more time to stay and really explore your village . The room ovelooked a lovely river with a little red bridge, it created a mystical scene of serenity and peace. Certainly a great place to stay and relax and just chill out. (The ladies from Melbourne Australia.) 10/10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Many thanks to Kathleen who runs the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Rooms large, breakfast excellent, grounds and house charming and I loved that I could wander downstairs and make myself a cup of tea when I felt like it. Great stay and very good value compared to some other B&B's in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happybubbles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

beautiful house right beside waterfall, lovely friendly people and delicious breakfast!
Peaceful and fabulous location. plenty wildlife in area and lovely village nearby.

Room Tip: all spacious comfortable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

It was our first time to stay in a B&B in at least 5 years but the pictures of the house were too good to pass up. Our room was huge, comfortable and had a view over the river. It was perfect. Our host was very welcoming and breakfast the next morning was relaxed and plentiful. The house is a short and pleasant walk along the river to the villages pubs and restaurants. There are lights and a footpath the whole way so it is very safe.

One slight niggle was the plethora of Lidl / Aldi products eg, chocolates, coffee, jam, tea, soap. I have no objection to these stores, I shop there myself, but its not too much to expect brand names when on holiday. Otherwise I would have no hesitation recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed here for just one night unfortunately. Welcoming and cosy with nice furniture and comfy bed. My room did not have an en suite but there was a bathroom right next door. The bath had an amazing high tech power shower but unfortunately so high tech I didnt have a clue how to use it without drowning ! It would have been nice to have had some instructions. Breakfast was excellent, home baked breads etc. Was so nice to get a call from the owner a couple of days later to say that she had found a jacket that I had left behind and was unaware. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We spent 3 nights here over Easter weekend. The house and its surroundings are beautiful and very peaceful. Kathleen and John were wonderful hosts. The beds were so comfortable!! Great location for visiting Galwy, Connemara and surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
259 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#8 of 24 in Oughterard
20 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfall Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfall Lodge

Property: Waterfall Lodge
Address: N56, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Oughterard
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing