We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boat Inn
Nearby Hotels
$164
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Currarevagh House(Oughterard)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$558
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
$89
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Corrib House Hotel(Oughterard)
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
98
43
7
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
43
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsate herelambsunday lunchsoup of the daypub restaurantbite to eatfish cakesirish coffeekylemore abbeypintirelandgalwaymainsvillagepubsyummytea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 158 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were expecting a good restaurant after reading the trip advisor comments, but we were very disappointed. The food quality was very very poor. The lamb (slices instead of meat with the bone) was just warmed and not prepared at the restaurant. It is not better than the food of an Hospital Restaurant... Maybe the hotel is good, but do not go there just for a dinner... You will find much better places around!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate here twice during our stay in Oughterard. It was recommended by the clerk in the pharmacy. Dinner was the best lamb shank I have eaten and lunch was excellent seafood chowder. Prices seemed average and the portion sizes were huge! Service - the waitstaff were quick to take your order and get your food served, but both times we had to track down our server to request our bill. Definitely worth eating here!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised at the excellent level of service in the bar during a busy Sunday lunch. Menus delivered, orders taken, drinks delivered and then food all happened quickly without being rushed. Menu is quite wide ranging and relatively reasonably priced. Food was tasty. Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lferrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Was here with two kids under 2 and wife and father in law. I must say it is a great place. The food was top class. We had burgers and the curry. The food arrived well presented and delicious. The staff were very friendly. They accommodate children also with books and colouring pencils available.

Our waiter deserved a lot of praise. Not sure of his name but he was the lad with red hair. very friendly.

Will definitely be back. Well done to all at the boat inn.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank tipptopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Called in for an evening meal, pleasantly surprised, the staff could not do enough for us, very busy pub. We were soon sorted with a table and the menus promptly given to us. The service was very quick,once the order was taken. The food was excellent and plenty of it and well presented. Can not praise the staff enough very attentive and pleasant through out our stay. This place deserves to do well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews