We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and staff fantastic.”
Review of The Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed and dined in the boat inn many times now on visiting oughterard, always satisfied with the service and food is delicious, staff very friendly and welcoming, will be back without a doubt.
Debbie & Sean noon. Rossendale

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Seven of us dropped in here on the way to the airport to have a coffee. Fabulous welcome , great coffee and those wrapped biscuits you only get with coffee but can never find a packet to buy !! Coffee was topped up automatically and Karen
was really lovely. Thankyou.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Maggotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a great Easter weekend fishing on the lough corrib. Fishing was good but to round it all off was our stay in the Boat inn. The rooms were great, the service was excellent and the staff of the boat inn were friendly and courteous. I would highly recommend the Boat inn to my friends. Finbarr and Eddie from Cork

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDenieffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you have a chance to pop by The Boat Inn, do so!
Rory, who runs the place, is a delightful host, who does everything in his power to satisfy his guests.
I went there to celebrate my cousins birthday, and we were a large group, I do believe we rented all the rooms. In advance, the large room had been wonderfully decorated for us, and he had even made sure there was enough white wine for the Norwegian ladies (who did not fancy Guinness all that much).

The rooms were great, and the food was both reasonably priced and delicious. The Inn is also situated right in the middle of everything in Oughterard, and so we were very comfortable.

The Boat Inn was just great in every way it could, but most of all, the service made my stay so wonderful. I had to leave at 05:00 St. Patrick's day morning, and so I asked if I could have the number of a taxi. That I could not, however, Rory made the arrangement, gave med the taxis number, and offered me to change rooms for the five hours I could sleep, so that the noise from the bar would not bother me. This was of course not something he had to do at all, and I was quite amazed that he even thought of it.
I was also offered breakfast, and when I humbly asked for "perhaps a youghurt and an apple?", what met me in the reception av 04:55, was nothing more than two youghurts, a bottle of water, an orange juice and an apple.

Really, this place is the true experience of the very homely, very kind Irish people. Do visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnivafh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Really really good food at very reasonable prices, soup was thick and tasty, wraps were delicious and all fresh and pleasantly served, will definitely be back and highly recommend. Really good coffee to boot.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a bank holiday Monday for some lunch. My hopes were high because it looked nice. Ample outdoor seating in the sun. The menu was decent enough and reasonable priced. However the customer service left a lot to be desired. Barman didn't even make eye contact when I placed my order and the waitress who came to prepare our table threw the forks knives and napkins down with a scowl. We both had the burger which came with chips, coleslaw and salad. Credit where it's due the burger was delicious but the customer service left a really bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stopped off for lunch on our way to Clifden at this lovely place, the service was wonderful, the waitress was so friendly and warm, which is rare these days. The lovely food was very tasty and fresh, spotless premises, I would highly recommend the Boat Inn to family and friends and definitely stop off here again, well done!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crangle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
0 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#8 of 23 in Oughterard
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
3 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
2 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Inn

Address: Main Street | The Square, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $43 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Oughterard on the N59 nestled near the shores of Lough Corrib and on the doorstep to Connemara. It consists of a bar & restaurant serving fresh food daily to locals and visitors from 8am until 9pm. It boasts a large outdoor seating area to the front and a private walled garden restaurant to the rear. Accommodation consists of 10 newly refurbished en suite rooms. Our staff are friendly and efficient and will help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing