We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of The Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat Inn
Ranked #9 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I just had dinner in the boat inn with my boyfriend. We found that the service was overall very good. For starters my boyfriend had the garlic mushrooms which had quite a lot of rotten lettuce, our mains courses were excellent ravioli and tagliatelle. And I had a lovely cheesecake. There is one waiter in particular, a red haired fellow that was working very hard with not a lot of help from the other two waitresses. We have been here before and will come back again. Good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelleroberts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped here on spec whilst driving through.Extremely good food,very reasonable prices and attentive staff.Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

ps.Don't fight for a parking space on the busy main road - there is a municipal car just 50 yards down on the left ( heading back to Galway )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice and had drinks on vouple of evenings during a week in house near Oughterard. Excellent Bar, restaurant and coffee shop. Really friendly atmosphere, fast service and great food. Also stock excellent Caledonian ale. Would consider staying here next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Two of us stopped here for lunch. The special was turkey & ham for €9.95 and was v good. Cod and chips from the menu was €13.95 but also v tasty and everything well presented with good and attentive service.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank LOGITRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stayed in the boat inn during the galway races,and could not have picked a better place. the staff were top drawer an could not do enough for you. the boat inn is great for nightly music an a bit of crac,also the food is out of this world.the thursday we were there they had a special ladies day,same as the galway races and it was brill.also it was for charity an everyone had a ball.highlight of our visit was meeting linda welby who wrote and sang the galway fiddler,we had a great night with her and her family.lovelly people.from davy pogue an rod armstrong.the irish horse rovers.

Room Tip: all rooms are much the same,and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ate here on a recommendation and were not disappointed . The staff were wonderful and the food quality and choice were both excellent . I will definitely be returning if in the area again.
It was a sunny day so we were able to sit outside on the benches .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We showed up at the right time to snag a table for dinner. The service was great - attentive although they were extremely busy. My husband and I both had lamb - he had the lamb shank and I enjoyed the roast. Cooked perfectly. If we had been in the area longer we would have gone back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertieginsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
0 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#7 of 23 in Oughterard
123 reviews
3 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
3 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Inn

Address: Main Street | The Square, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $43 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Oughterard on the N59 nestled near the shores of Lough Corrib and on the doorstep to Connemara. It consists of a bar & restaurant serving fresh food daily to locals and visitors from 8am until 9pm. It boasts a large outdoor seating area to the front and a private walled garden restaurant to the rear. Accommodation consists of 10 newly refurbished en suite rooms. Our staff are friendly and efficient and will help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing