We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal Lough Corrib getaway”
Review of The Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An ideal Lough Corrib getaway”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I visited The Boat Inn last June with family as part of a fishing weekend to Lough Corrib. It was our first time to that side of the lake and staying in Oughterard. We arrived very late and though the kitchen was closed, the bar staff provided good sandwiches which were really appreciated. The food is really excellent throughout, and staff were helpful: a very welcoming and easy atmosphere. As the breakfast and evening menu were so good, we ended up not venturing further afield as a result. There was also a lovely walled garden at the back with some seating for sitting out. The bedrooms were quite simply furnished, but spotless and quiet. Best of all, we got great support on hiring a boat, rods etc arranged via the owner. Oughtarard was also close enough for the non fisher folk in our group to have a day trip to the shops in Galway. Our fishing trips to Corrib are an annual tradition, and we this will definitely be our base next time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat I, Front Office Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay with us and many thanks for taking the time to review our premises. It is very much appreciated and we hope to see you return again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    38
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
52
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked the nearby Connemara gateway hotel online and arrived to find it all but closed so were stuck for somewhere to stay for our weekend visit to Oughterard. This was the best thing that could have happened as we found the Boat Inn. Firstly the staff couldnt do enough for us and set us up in a comfortable and clean room straight away. We then had one of the best meals we have had in years followed by a few drinks in the family friendly bar with a choice of entertainment and great service throughout. So impressed were we that we immediately decided that we would stay and eat there the following day rather than move on. Again, the service, entertainment and food (inculding breakfast) were top notch the following evening. The Inn is located in the middle of the town so it's close to everything. There were some packages available at the time we stayed which made the whole thing excellent value. Only complaint I have is that our stay wasnt long enough!! We're already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: just ask in reception - In myexperience the staff were very friendly and will help if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivebeenthere_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visit Oughterard regularly and have been going to the boat in since I can remember. As usual the food didn't disappoint. We ate dinner and lunch here as the food was so good. My partner had the special on the Friday night - Cottage Pie it was a generous sized portion and came with chips, I had a burger and chips, including 3 drinks the bill came to €33 excellent value.
We came in for a drink on the Saturday night and unfortunately the place lacked atmosphere although they had two guys singing and playing guitar so you didn't feel you were the only people in the place.
On Sunday we can and had lunch - the Seafood Chowder is amazing, I fell in love with it there 15 years ago and it is still as good as I remember.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Popped in here to watch the all Ireland final and we were approached by a staff member straight away and given a table. Food was served quickly and were impressed with it as we were just expecting everyday pub food. Service was overall really attentive and friendly. Our friends with a young baby were given all the help they needed. A really good and friendly atmosphere, even a forlone Kilkenny supporter giving it amateur dramatics at the bar could'nt spoil the occasion. Will definately return. I did'nt stay so can't comment on the accomodation, but would certainly try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenWiskin046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Only went to the restaurant. 14 of us sat down to a meal for a special Birthday in a lovely funtion room next to the restaurant. The meal was from the top draw and served on time. We were looked after by the manager who's service was excellent. We enjoyed the evening so much that 10 of us went back for the last night of our holidays, and again the food and service was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Dined here on a Friday night in a group of 6.
Food excellent and good value.
This is a bar/restaurant and was very busy on a Friday night in August. Our orders were taken promptly bus food was a bit slow in arriving. No problem though as we got our drinks order immediately.
Great atomsphere and seating outside for a balmy August evening.In the middle of the town with ample parking nearby. Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat I, Public Relations Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Sincere thanks for your review. It is very much appreciated. We always like to hear our customers feedback as it helps us define our strengths and weaknesses and therefore provide a better service to all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here in July The service and staff were excellent. The Food was Good. it was a Monday night and the restaurent was full Room excellent clean and bright Price reasonable
Would recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat I, Public Relations Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Many thanks for your review of The Boat Inn & we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
3.0 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
155 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
3.0 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Oughterard
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#8 of 24 in Oughterard
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#10 of 24 in Oughterard
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Inn

Property: The Boat Inn
Address: Main Street | The Square, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Oughterard on the N59 nestled near the shores of Lough Corrib and on the doorstep to Connemara. It consists of a bar & restaurant serving fresh food daily to locals and visitors from 8am until 9pm. It boasts a large outdoor seating area to the front and a private walled garden restaurant to the rear. Accommodation consists of 10 newly refurbished en suite rooms. Our staff are friendly and efficient and will help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing