We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As a group of 4, two adults and two kids aged 16 and 12, it can be difficult to find good accommodation at short notice, so we were lucky to find accommodation here late on Saturday evening. And what a find! Rory, the guy on reception, was very welcoming and professional, and gave us a great rate for our overnight stay. The rooms were lovely, small but really clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a complimentary coffee before retiring to the bar to enjoy the music. Breakfast was equally good, and service was attentive and pleasant. The Sunday lunch menu looked good, as did the evening menu, although we didn't eat there.This is a really nice place to stay, right in the centre of Oughterard, with good staff, lovely rooms and great food. I really don't know what the previous review is about; must have been a bad day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We enjoyed two evening of outstanding dining at the Boat Inn, Oughterard, Ireland recently. It was a by chance choice with the interior of the dining room much nicer than expected from the exterior view. We were so delighted with the meal and service that we returned the next day after a full day of exploring Connemara. The Inn is a very nice casual environment and the food was excellent, everything from a simple chowder and burger to lovely lamb. It was moderately priced with options in various ranges with dinner from $20-$30.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank INmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just eat in the Boat Inn. Great fresh new look, havn't been in three/four years.

Food excellent service great and exceptional value for money. Irish stew outstanding and this from an Irishman who lives for good flavours.
This is a landmark example of what good food, service and value can be delivered without the usual catering pre-prepared menu items.
Hope the standard is maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here with my family April 2012, Highly recommend, excellent accommodation & food at very reasonable price, staff fantastic, bedrooms very clean over all 10/10. Great location well done Boat Inn.

The Briens , Wicklow

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wicklowspar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

looks good service good should have good summer if weather ok

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connemarachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My son and I stopped into the Boat Inn today for lunch. The place was quite busy, but the staff were all attentive and friendly. The food came quickly and tasted great. There were lovely vegetarian options, and the chips were to die for. My son says it's his favourite place in the area, and I agree.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foorglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I visited the Boat Inn yesterday. The Inn is now under new ownership and has been re-vamped. The difference is quite amazing from the sunny attitude of the staff to the completely new bathrooms/lavatories. There is a new chef and the food has also improved. I observed a family group from France eating adjacent to my table - they were really impressed and made their appreciation known rather loudly. Back to the chowder, good cosistency, good sized pieces of fish - highly recommend.
I was informed that all the rooms are now under renovation.
This is a totally new and vastly improved operation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasperlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
9.3 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
197 reviews
0 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#7 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#1 of 23 in Oughterard
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
3 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Inn

Address: Main Street | The Square, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $41 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Oughterard on the N59 nestled near the shores of Lough Corrib and on the doorstep to Connemara. It consists of a bar & restaurant serving fresh food daily to locals and visitors from 8am until 9pm. It boasts a large outdoor seating area to the front and a private walled garden restaurant to the rear. Accommodation consists of 10 newly refurbished en suite rooms. Our staff are friendly and efficient and will help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing