We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering accommodation a disappointment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oughterard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Railway Lodge Country House
Ranked #16 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband & I spent a week in the self-catering accommodation at Railway Cottage. Our cottage was standalone, away from the main house and the B&B accommodation. It was on 2 levels with the lounge/dining/kitchen on the ground floor and the bedroom/bathroom upstairs. The bedroom and bathroom had sloped ceilings that had us walking around hunched over the whole time to make sure we didn’t hit our heads. Downstairs there was little room for us to settle in with no bench or cupboard space. One of the sofas was too uncomfortable to sit on so it was fairly cramped when we wanted to relax. The kitchen was only equipped with the basics though the owner had offered to let her know if we needed anything. There is a manic German Shepherd that is kept locked up most of the time but one afternoon it was loose on the grounds and, despite having been warned of it’s behavior, it managed to give me a serious fright, barking and jumping up at me. There was quite a bit of assorted rubbish outside the cottage taking away from any ambience the outside area may have had. A couple of times during our stay someone changed over the towels and made the bed, which was unexpected and not what we expect (or want) at a self-catered property. One afternoon we arrived back at the cottage to find their keys still in the door – so much for security. Overall we found our stay in the cottage disappointing.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SidekickSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Railway Lodge Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Joe, Carmen and Mary were all very nice. Rooms were good sized, en suite, nice (comfortably) firm beds, breakfast was too much if anything, and very good quality. Peaceful setting, surrounded by fields. Great sunroom for breakfast. Wi-fi. Great base for exploring Connemara.

Room Tip: Only saw the two rooms, and both were great.
Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Esteban_De_Laplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We found the Railway Lodge to be impeccably kept, furnished with with lovely taste and very comfortable. The warm welcome offered by Carmel and Joe is second to none and the setting is beautiful. Carmel's eye for antiques creates a place to stay that is unique and stylish, but not over done. Breakfast is also lovely. The overall impression is of a place run with great professionalism and care. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesJimJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The only negative about Railway Lodge was having to leave! Carmel is an outstanding hostess,her genuine hospitality was second to none! This beautiful home is tastefully furnished with elegant antiques,sumptuous linens and an ambiance that is rarely experienced.'The Waterfall Walk' was much needed after a delicious traditional breakfast,homemade breads and juices!!Railway Lodge is the perfect spot to unwind and recharge the batteries.Looking forward to our next stay!!

Room Tip: the 'Cottage' gives you your own space with the benefit of the Lodge
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The room was beautiful, the setting so peaceful, would go back again - worth the plane trip just for the home baked bread at breakfast.

Really helpful host, but unobtrusive. Would need a car, or could manage on a bicycle, plenty in the area to see without travelling too far.

If you've enjoyed watching 'Single-handed', you need to go and visit this lovely county for yourself to enjoy the scenery.

Room Tip: my daughter loved the green room, which had more space than the room next door.
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We received a warm welcome from Carmel when we arrived at the beautiful Railway Lodge in the late afternoon after a long day of driving in the beautiful Connemara region. Railway Lodge is beautifully decorated with Irish pine, and elegant antiques and linen. It is a modern building built with the charm and ambience of an old one, and the conveniences of today.We loved lounging in the elegant, yet warm and comfortable living room, and had our meals in the lovely sunroom with its lovely views of the garden and the surrounding countryside.
Our upstairs bedrooms were cozy and comfortable with lovely bedlinen and good quality toiletries.The rooms were spacious and we had plenty of room for our luggage.
Carmel's breakfasts were delicious, probably the best that we had in Ireland, and she cooked us an equally delicious dinner one night. She was warm and friendly, and offered us much good advice on where to eat and help with our drive plans.
Railway Lodge was one of the best B&Bs that we stayed in on our 3 week trip to Ireland, and my husband, sister and I would love to return. Thank you Carmel for a lovely visit, and we have sung your praises to our friends on our return home.
Oughterad is a good base for exploring the Connemara region. We spent 2 full days driving around our version of the various Connemara Loops,and even though we experienced some rain, the beautiful scenary more than made up for it in drama and spectacle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were so pleased we chose to stay here. Carmel is a splendid hostess and her breakfasts are magnificent. We had the very comfortable little self contained cottage but took breakfast in the house. The bed linens are sumptuous. It was too far to walk into town for evening meals, particularly in the rain. The best bet for eating seemed to be the Connemara, there's not much else.
Unfortunately Oughterard has little to offer the tourist apart from Lough Corrib.The boat trips are recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saralou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
0.3 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#10 of 23 in Oughterard
101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
2.1 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Lodge Country House

Address: Canrower, Oughterard Co Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Railway Lodge and Cottage are situated at the Gateway to Connemara, you may wish to self cater in the Railway Cootage or you may want to be pampered in the Railway Lodge, this is the ideal base to experience and discover the majestic Connemara. The Aran Islands are a short drive and ferry trip away, climb Diamond Hill in the National Park Letterfrack or explore Kylemore Abbey and Victorian Gardens. Enjoy culinary delights in the village of Oughterard after a day in Connemara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing