We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I stayed for one night at Ross Lake with my partner. The only thing wrong with our stay - was its length - one night was not enough to savour and enjoy all the delights this charming hotel had to offer. The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating. The food was lovely and due to the hotel not being at capacity on the night in question we were upgraded to a fabulous room. This hotel is not for people who want wi-fi access everywhere, a fitness suite etc - this hotel is for you if you value peace and quiet, excellent service, accomodations with character and real Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

Elaine and Henry were expert hosts and treated us superbly being the only guests in the hotel one Monday evening. We had a cocktail in the lounge with a lit fireplace and candles, then an excellent four-course meal with superb service. We stayed two nights and had an outstanding experience. The beds were plush and cozy with heavy bedding, a roomy marble bathroom and elegant surroundings. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouristIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Precisely the sort of place we look for: quiet, comfortable, and bucolic. The location is fantastic, assuming that you are seeking rural scenery. Tucked into a deep woods, nowhere near a town, this is exactly the place for a restful weekend in the country. The cooking was very good, and the service was really quite wonderful. The beds--ahem--were a bit worn. How else to say it?

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Ross Lake House is not easy to find,being nowhere near Ross Lake,and having the signpost from the main road concealed by a bush when approached from Galway,so that turning back, having overshot, is the easiest way.The search is found to be well worthwhile, on first sight of the dignified neoGeorgian house amongst the fine trees.
The ambience lives up to the initial promise-the interior is as tasteful as the exterior. Our room (Lord Hardinge,named after an owner) had mostly fine Georgian marquetry furniture with a repro bed and bedside table.Unfortunately there was a TV,but of only modest size.There was no clutter of tea making gear (unsafe amongst such good furniture) just a couple of glass bottles of mineral water which were replaced daily.The lounges are comforable,dignified and full of books,mostly related to the locality with only a few paperbacks.
Despite the modest size of the hotel,the menu has a good choice on each course with daily changes.Service is expert ,by a mature waiter of roseate complexion and disposition,or the owners. Table presentation is superb.
Before and after dinner conversation is enlivened by tales from the owner spanning his 27 year career at the Ross Hill.He was very helpful in advising a group of Americans,insecure in such a wild remote country,about travel arrangements.
The nights are entirely peaceful on a superb firm bed with proper sheets and no less than three thin blankets to allow a proper choice of bedding.The location is very quiet both acoustically and electrically.The absence of "wireless Internet",cheapo low energy light bulbs,dimmers,and other sources of RF pollution allows superb worldwide radio reception-even a strong signal on Radio 4.
The breakfast is entirely as expected.The bill,also entirely as expected,is excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We booked Ross Lake House through a B&B company from Australia and were really thrilled with the standard of accommodation. We were staying one night however enjoyed it so much we ended up using it as a base to explore the countryside and stayed three nights in all. Mine hosts were marvellous and we really enjoyed the family like atmosphere and the ability to enjoy a drink which a lot of B&B's don't have. We recommend it highly. Beautiful food as well.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dafran65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

As soon as I stumbled upon Ross Lake House, I was immediately welcomed by a delightful sheltie and the owners/propriertors Elaine and Henry. Ross Lake House was the absolute highlight of my two week holiday in Ireland. Sitting at the end of the evening, sharing a dram of fine whisky and being treated as a long lost friend was the end to a perfect and all too short evening.
The grounds are spectacular and the suite I was treated to was divine. Breakfast was delightful, but dinner was truly a culinary experience that I still remember with bliss. You are treated as one of the family and the memories of your stay will truly last a lifetime.
Thank you Elaine and Henry for one of the best times in my life...truly!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainGirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Ross Lake provided a perfect peaceful interlude during a long overland trip. Henry the proprietor was charming, funny, informative, attentive, and extremely helpful. 5 Stars from all six of us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
5.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
24.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,762 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,225 reviews
12.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range: $154 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing