We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel to stay in. It is tucked away in the countryside, a short drive from Galway. The owners Henry & Elaine are very friendly and inviting. They are very knowledgeable about things to do in the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. If we had more time we would have stayed longer here. We hope to get back to Ireland and stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our trip through Ireland. We were welcomed graciously to this beautiful place by Henry and Elaine, who were the most friendly and expert host and hostess. Both were always happy to answer our questions and offer suggestions to make our trip memorable. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the house was warm and accommodating to all of our needs. We chose to eat dinner at the house, and were thoroughly pleased with the expertly prepared four course meal (costing 50 euro each). The location was excellent for access to both Galway city to the east and the Connemara region to the west. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this region of Ireland, and I only hope to return soon myself.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessu48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The holiday was to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and we spent 5 nights at the hotel. The owners (Elaine & Henry) were so welcoming and helpful which made the trip even more memorable. The hotel is located away from any built up area and thus was very quiet, an ideal place to relax but a great base to see the wonderful scenery of Connemara.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We loved this hotel, it is tucked away in the peaceful Galway countyside. We would strongly recommend a stay here if you like peace and quiet and a warm homely atmosphere. We found the proprietors extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and the food was great, cannot fault the place at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clogher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Ross Lake House Hotel is a gem of an inn. Located in the beautiful hills of Connemara, you will not be disappointed. The owners are lovely, the food is wonderful, and the atmosphere is relaxing. This was a highlight of our stay! Close to Cong and the Ashford Castle, this is the place to stay. The rooms were nice, the surroundings beautiful but the best part was the fireplace and library. You will feel like you are staying with family. The hotel is welcoming andd comforting all at the same time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagogirl305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bm174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
5.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
24.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,759 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
12.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range: $154 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing