We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely 2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterfront House Country Home
Ranked #6 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Me and my husband stayed there for 2 nights. We slept in a room with a lovely view of the lake and Mary let us use their boat for a couple of hours. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the view was great.
One little downside was the bugs that came from the window when it was open because it was quite worm so Mary asked us not to open the window when the lights are on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyMotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

It rained when I arrived but I still enjoyed my one night stay at Mary's and Tom's comfortable home. I think it's a great place to stay between Galway and Connemara national park. It's quiet and peaceful and has lovely views of the lake plus the greenery outside my bedroom window. Mary and Tom are perfect hosts. When I come back one day, I'll bring my parents along and I know my dad would love to play a few rounds of golf at the golf course nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenny_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a great one night stay here in May - very beautiful and peaceful - pity it was a little too cool to sit outside and enjoy the lake view. Clean comfortable room and very nice breakfast. Thanks Mary!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adclark2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you like peace and quiet, seclusion and a wonderful lake view (from some rooms), this is the place. Friendly warm welcome, beautiful house with all of the facilities one could expect, including a large lounge. Comprehensive ample and tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. All of this and only a short drive from a pleasant small town with several excellent places to eat and drink, Exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a lake view, so ask if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GIC_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatwalsh, Owner at The Waterfront House Country Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for for all the nice things you said about the Waterfront House Country Home. We are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us and for chosing to stay with. We hope to see you again, sometime.

All the best,

Mary and Tom.

Mary and Tom Walsh,
The Waterfront House Country Home,
Golf Course Road,
Oughterard,
Co. Galway.
Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I still remember our holiday in this lovely country home. It is just in front of a lake that I really love, landscape is fantastic and you can enjoy complete relax and peace. In the nearby there is an ancient castle surrounded by a wide green area where you can have beautiful walks.
Our breakfast was rich and tasty.
People are friendly and warm.
Absolutely suggested!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaolaDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatwalsh, Owner at The Waterfront House Country Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments, they are very much appreciated.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and hope to see you again, sometime.

Yours Sincerely,

Mary and Tom.

Mary and Tom Walsh,
The Waterfront House Country Home,
Golf Course Road,
Oughterard,
Co. Galway.
Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The owners are really friendly and kind. The beds were comfy, the view was great and the breakfast was yummy. Would go again. If you are planning to go on a nice quiet break in Ireland this is the place to go

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilda4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatwalsh, Owner at The Waterfront House Country Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments, they are very much appreciated.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and hope to see you again, sometime.

Yours Sincerely,

Mary and Tom.

Mary and Tom Walsh,
The Waterfront House Country Home,
Golf Course Road,
Oughterard,
Co. Galway.
Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent a lovely Bank Holiday in Oughterard, Orienteeriing in the mist and rain. Mary and her husband made it all the more comfortable with drying our running clothes, tea and coffee available whenever you wanted to make one. Friendly welcoming home with hot showers any time of the day.
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and even an early breakfast on bank holiday monday was no trouble.
Would recommend this B & B to all types of visitors to the area.
The one downside - not near enough for Galway for me to use when there for work twic a month.

Room Tip: Definately facing the Lough. We had a lovely room, but to be honest I don't think there is a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnigmaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatwalsh, Owner at The Waterfront House Country Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments, they are very much appreciated.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We were only too glad to help as the weather was not too nice at the time of your stay.

We hope to see you again, sometime.

Yours Sincerely,

Mary and Tom.

Mary and Tom Walsh,
The Waterfront House Country Home,
Golf Course Road,
Oughterard,
Co. Galway.
Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.5 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
4.4 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#1 of 23 in Oughterard
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#9 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront House Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront House Country Home

Address: Golf Course Road | Near Aughnanure Castle, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $76 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront House Country Home 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront House Country Home B&B offers superb panoramic lakeside accommodation, on the shores of Lough Corrib, in the heart of Connemara, on the west coast of Ireland. Our rates are very reasonable and our home is an ideal central base from which to tour the following places: Galway City, Westport, Aran Islands, Cliffs of Moher, Aillwee Caves, Aughnanure Castle, Killary Harbour, etc. Locally you can enjoy: Walking, Golfing, Game Fishing, Coarse Fishing, Relaxing, Tours & Day Trips.The Waterfront House sits nestled right on the shores of the world-famous fishing grounds - Lough Corrib, surrounded by the Hills of Connemara, just a short stroll along a winding country lane from Aughnanure Castle and the lovely Oughterard 18 hole Parkland golf course in the heart of the Irish countryside.The Waterfront House was specially designed and built to suit the needs of guests looking for that memorable overnight stay and, with over thirty years experience in the business, Mary and Tom Walsh have come to know exactly what the visitor expects.All rooms have private en suite with power-shower, hairdryer and multi channel HD TV. Wifi Broadband Internet Access is available throughout our home.The Waterfront House is ideally and centrally located as a base to explore a vast area of the west of Ireland from the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands right the way up through Connemara to Clifden and Westport.There are lots of historical places of interest to visit and so much to see and do for all the family - all within a short drive of the Waterfront House.You won't be disappointed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront House Country Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing