We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Irish dream accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oughterard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairybridge Cottage
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Perfect Irish dream accommodation”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Fairy Bridge Cottages: I have been passing through few times, coming from one of the unspoilt sides of Lake Corrib in Connemara; for me this place always looked like a dream accommodation: beautiful tatched cottages, it seems to be in a fairy tale. When we stayed we realized that it was even better than what we thought. It's a real photo spot, it's a bed and breakfast with lovely and friendly owners, it's a self catering cottage, it's a museum! The inside it's warm and beautiful like the outside, with modern conforts too (sky tv). The owner may give you a tour of his own place too (the other cottage, fantastic too). This place is also located near the town, the lake, the woodlands; perfect in everything. One of the best accommodation I have been in my life, I think. Pets are welcome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I'm in two minds about writing a review - simply because we love this place so much, we'd be gutted if we wanted to stay there and it was already booked! We stayed in the self-contained thatched cottage (it was our second stay), which is perfect in every way. The hosts are fantastic - everything is provided and nothing is too much trouble. It's an idyllic setting, with gorgeous walks, a pretty little town nearby, good pubs and places to eat, and Fairy Bridge itself is populated by lovely animals (dogs, cats, chickens, etc) and even the odd friendly ghost or two, apparently! You'd be mad to stay anywhere else in Ireland at all!!!
My son has this to add: It is the best hotel i have ever stayed in, the people are very kind and i was sad to leave because everybody is so nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackandRose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Beautiful thatched roof cottages in the middle of the Irish countryside. The owner - Mary - is a wonderful hostess and a pleasure to stay with. There are 2 separate cottages. One of them is a 1 bed 1 bath and sleeps 2-4 comfortably (it has a futon on the lower level and a full-size mattress in the rafters). The other is 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. Not sure if she rents them out at the same time as I am assuming she stays in one while the other is rented. My wife and I stayed in the 1 bed 1 bath cottage. You have to climb a ladder to get to the sleeping chamber in the rafters. Mary is a very personable and pleasant hostess. She left fresh eggs from her chickens on the counter for us to have a fresh breakfast, and she stocked the fridge with all necessary ingredients to make your own Irish breakfast. Both cottages have full kitchens, microwaves, ovens, and hot/cold water. Showers too! The village of Oughterard isn't far from Galway. Very quiet countryside - highly recommended!!! My wife and I can't wait to return with our daughter once she's old enough. Note: due to the nature of the building construction and thatched roof, there are spiders present inside of the home. Not too many, but a few. Those with phobias beware! ;-)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnochLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

I've passed by there several times and the location and Irish cottage "feel" are very authentic. Plus real chickens running around and thatch. And a little river nearby.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank evelyndevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

What a great experience. You'll have to call Mary to make reservations because she doesn't believe in computers. She doesn't need to advertise because 90% of her guests have been there before. Don't expect your typical B&B fare, you are staying with a couple in their 3-bedroom thatched roof cottage that is so charming and beautiful, it was on the cover of a 2006 Irish Cottages calender.

The small village of Oughterard has only a handful resturants, pubs and shops. But is ideally located for a 20minute ride to Galway or to tour Conemerra (sp?). To describe this cottage is to take a post card picture of a thatched roof cottage, filled with every collectable and knick knack inside so that every space is filled with something interesting. A turf fire burns in the morning and evening. You get a fresh filling breakfast and the eggs come their chickens out back. Mary is a charming lady with a perpetual smile and knows that you are there to relax and enjoy yourself. The rooms have comfortable beds. One bedroom has a private shower and bath and the other has a private shower, but you use the hallway bathroom.

You will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend...and Mary never says goodbye...just "see you soon".

  • Liked — Very unique and provides an a traditional Irsih experience
  • Disliked — There was so many collectable in bedroom it was hard to find space to put your things
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 6, 2005

we enjoyed our stay at fairybridge, very friendly,brill breakfast, mary made us very welcome we went as strangers and came away as friends definately worth a visit chris n jon

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2004

Fairy Bridge is a great little hideaway in the heart of Connemara. It is a self catering cottage but Mary went out of her way and gave us A Full Irish breakfast stocked in our fridge to make oureslves with fresh eggs from the chickens in the front yard! It had a great (electrical) woodburning stove and a loft bedroom which we found very romantic! It really is a magical place! It made us feel like we were kids again playing in our little clubhouse. Beware though, the rooster will wake you up in the morning (heehee)

Helpful?
3 Thank KristinMalone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.7 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
0.6 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#2 of 23 in Oughterard
97 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
1.8 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#3 of 23 in Oughterard
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairybridge Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairybridge Cottage

Property: Fairybridge Cottage
Address: Tonwee, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Oughterard
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing