We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kitty's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome! Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Welcome!
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Garden
Garden Studio
Poppies in Garden
Flower Border in Garden
Owenriff River Oughterard
Connemara Mountains
Connemara Lake
Connemara
Connemara Lake
Oughterard Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oughterard, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
VeronikVH
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're thinking of visiting Connemara - and you should! - this is the cottage you definitely want to stay in. Very charming, spacious, cosy, well equipped and situated in the cute little town of Oughterard. 3 bedrooms, all with their own bathroom and toilet.We arrived on a rainy saturday but after a warm welcome by Kathleen and some delicious home made scones, the weather didn't really bother us at all.
Oughterard is very well situated if you want to see the Connemara area.
We were here for a week and visited Cong and Ashford castle, walked the beautiful white beaches of Mweenish and Dog's Bay. We crossed the beach of Omey Island (check the tides before you go and make sure to be there at low tide). Take the Sky Road in Clifden to get to Omey, it has some really stunning views.
We climbed Lachavrea mountain (make to sure to bring some spare boots, it was pretty muddy), saw Kylemore Abbey. Connemara is by far the most beautiful part of Ireland (We were in Cork, Kerry, Clare, Galway and parts of Limerick), it reminded us of West-Canada at times. Lakes everywhere!
This was a great holiday, both Kitty's cottage and the environment made it unforgettable.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of this house
Liked least: The showers were not always very hot.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeronicaH...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with character”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family of 4 adults and 1 child stayed at Kitty's Cottage for two weeks in June. It was a perfect place for our holiday. Kathleen, the owner, was very friendly and accommodating; and she also allowed two additional family members to stay at her B&B next door, which was ideal for our family reunion. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful gardens, so lush and green and full of gorgeous flowers. The house itself is well equipped and we were very comfortable there, both in terms of space and furnishings.. [ If I could suggest one thing, it would be that there should be a couple of shelves added to the downstairs bathroom because the only surface for toiletry storage was the small windowsill.]
Our family enjoyed the location of the cottage, which was only a few minutes walk to the lively village of Oughterard. Our favourite places to eat there included: Powers Pub, Breathnach's Bar, Greenway Cafe, Camp Street Cafe, and the Connemara Lake Hotel. We were amazed that there were so many excellent places to eat in such a small village. I recommend them all.
Also, we had a wonderful trekking experience with the Knockkillaree Riding Centre. Roger, the owner, took us for a 90 minute ride through the hills, which was great fun and we all enjoyed it so much.
Overall, we loved our stay in Oughterard. It is charming and friendly, and we would love to return one day. Now that we are home, thoughts of it constantly pop into our minds and, for me, it's almost like being homesick! We all have very happy memories of both Kitty's Cottage and the village!!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and grounds
Liked least: The WiFi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horsellda...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful place to stay in Oughterard”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a very peaceful spot. Very comfortable and the perfect base from which to explore Galway and the stunning region of Connemara.

Kathleen was very friendly, helpful and discreet and looked after us all very well indeed, even making us some delicious soda bread.

The only slight issue was the lack of storage space for food in the Kitchen. However, that is a very minor criticism of what is a great cottage.

Thank you so much. We will be back.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sinead L
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Connemara is beautiful”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our time away in Galway, the Connemara countryside is truly outstanding. Kathleen who owned the cottage was very nice. We rarely saw her even though the house is part of Kathleen's house with a locked door separating them. The house was fine for our needs and everything was nice and clean. The wifi is only available in one room and television only has 2 working channels however we spent most of our time out and about therefore this did not matter. We were looking forward to feeding the chickens but unfortunately there were none however again this was no big issue. Would certainly go back to this part of Ireland again.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Kitty's Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed the beauty of Connemara.
I would just like to clarify that the cottage is a separate building which is linked to the my house by the dining/conservatory room. There is a door in here which was connected to a hallway into my house but this is boarded up behind with a two feet thickness of insulation in-between the stone wall so it is not part of my house.
I appreciate your feedback and I have now connected a satellite dish to the cottage so now apart from the 4 Irish channels it is now possible to view all the English channels plus many more.
Unfortunately there is nothing I can do about the Wi-Fi which is only available in the dining room.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the lack of chickens, unfortunately Mr Fox had paid a visit!
I am glad these issues did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay in this beautiful part of the world.
I look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.
Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazmuffin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at Kitty's Cottage”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family (2 adults & 2 kids aged 13 & 8) has just returned from a lovely relaxing week at this property. The property is situated on Glann Road, 2 mins drive/10mins walk from village of Oughterard which has 2 grocery stores, pubs and nice eateries. Kathleen the owner was very welcoming, even leaving us home-made scones and jam. We stayed B&B with Kathleen on the Fri night before taking residence in the cottage on Sat (the cooked breakfast was a treat with local produce) - the cottage is adjoined to the main house but Kathleen did not infringe on our privacy. She suggested places of interest to visit and places to eat which proved useful never having been to Galway before. The self-catering cottage is spacious, very well presented and clean. 3 bedrooms, all en-suite (2 upstairs, 1 downstairs). Wi-fi available but reception limited to the dining room due to the thickness of the walls of cottage! Kitchen clean and fairly well stocked with utensils - washing machine (no tumble dryer which would have been useful), dishwasher, oven & electric hob, fridge & freezer, microwave all provided. Limited cupboard space for storing food but we managed to squeeze things in.
Beds very comfortable & conducive to good night's sleep. Cottage is surrounded by beautiful landscaped garden, and patio area & seating available to eat alfresco.
We had plenty of activities to keep us & kids entertained all week despite some rainy days. Galway has it's own micro climate and weather forecast not always to be trusted! Outstanding scenery to behold, especially the remote areas of Connemara (watch out for the sheep wandering across the road!). Some places we would recommend visiting are Kylemore Abbey & walled gardens, Clifden, Galway City, Cong, Corrib Cruises, Brigit's Garden at Roscahill & Joe Joyce and his sheepdogs to name but a few.
We have returned home invigorated and well rested and we would have no hesitation in recommending Kitty's Cottage or Galway.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi was limited
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing