We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome at Kitty's Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kitty's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome! Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Welcome!
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Garden
Garden Studio
Poppies in Garden
Flower Border in Garden
Owenriff River Oughterard
Connemara Mountains
Connemara Lake
Connemara
Connemara Lake
Oughterard Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oughterard, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
cazmuffin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at Kitty's Cottage”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family (2 adults & 2 kids aged 13 & 8) has just returned from a lovely relaxing week at this property. The property is situated on Glann Road, 2 mins drive/10mins walk from village of Oughterard which has 2 grocery stores, pubs and nice eateries. Kathleen the owner was very welcoming, even leaving us home-made scones and jam. We stayed B&B with Kathleen on the Fri night before taking residence in the cottage on Sat (the cooked breakfast was a treat with local produce) - the cottage is adjoined to the main house but Kathleen did not infringe on our privacy. She suggested places of interest to visit and places to eat which proved useful never having been to Galway before. The self-catering cottage is spacious, very well presented and clean. 3 bedrooms, all en-suite (2 upstairs, 1 downstairs). Wi-fi available but reception limited to the dining room due to the thickness of the walls of cottage! Kitchen clean and fairly well stocked with utensils - washing machine (no tumble dryer which would have been useful), dishwasher, oven & electric hob, fridge & freezer, microwave all provided. Limited cupboard space for storing food but we managed to squeeze things in.
Beds very comfortable & conducive to good night's sleep. Cottage is surrounded by beautiful landscaped garden, and patio area & seating available to eat alfresco.
We had plenty of activities to keep us & kids entertained all week despite some rainy days. Galway has it's own micro climate and weather forecast not always to be trusted! Outstanding scenery to behold, especially the remote areas of Connemara (watch out for the sheep wandering across the road!). Some places we would recommend visiting are Kylemore Abbey & walled gardens, Clifden, Galway City, Cong, Corrib Cruises, Brigit's Garden at Roscahill & Joe Joyce and his sheepdogs to name but a few.
We have returned home invigorated and well rested and we would have no hesitation in recommending Kitty's Cottage or Galway.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi was limited
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearbhla...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even my Dad loved it! Kathleen is a gem!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Three generations of our family spent our holidays here in July, I was home from Africa, my brother from China, my parents, sister, nephew all meeting up. It was such a treat especially as I couldn't believe anywhere would meet all our criteria. Cycle the famous Glann Road along Lough Corrib - it's straight out of an Irish tourism brochure. 10 minutes walk to the pub in Oughterard for the end of day Guinness. Half an hour's drive to our favourite Art's Festival in Galway, or to the Atlantic beaches, or to the walled garden of Kylemore Abbey. The house was suitable for a toddler (he loved Kathleen's hens) and even our cheeky Labrador dog was made welcome. The cottage was comfortable, spotlessly clean (ask my mum!), a fire, ensuites, enviable garden, patio - we dined outside one night. Kathleen left us a welcome package with tasty homemade bread. I can't really think of anything we'd have changed. But I'd like to say thank you to Kathleen and to Oughterard for being the highlight of our summer!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyone was happy!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAEGI-BOU...
Benon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place ideally located plus warmest wellcome”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is ideally located to explore the best part of Connemara. The 4 of us plus the 2 basset hounds experienced a great stay. The place is worth the price. Downstairs, the living room and the dining rooms are quite large, and the kitchen is quite functional and equipped with top facilities. Upstairs, the rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable. The garden, shared with the neighbor cottage, is extraordinarily well composed and kept, and the boys loved to feed the hens. Kathleen (the owner) was easy to connect to and helpful Local fish & chips, kebab and pizza take away and a great pub. If you stay here you will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: The height of one of the bathroom upstairs (when you are above 6 feet)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was exactly as it was advertised! Very convenient location.
Liked least: Not a huge problem, but internet access was spotty.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 31, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and beauty of location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SunshineS...
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We are a family of four with two young boys and had a delightful week at Kathleen's cottage where she also runs a B & B in the main house. The welcome was warm and friendly and we found a beautiful, spacious house which was spotlessly clean and had everything that we needed for our week long stay. The house also benefits from a very large garden with chickens, ducks a a vegetable patch, from which we were told to help ourselves. Our children loved letting the hens out in the morning and hunting for the eggs and thoroughly enjoyed playing with Scooby the spaniel. Kathleen's hospitality was second to none and one morning she brought us freshly baked scones and home made blackcurrant jam which were delicious!

Oughterard is a ten minute walk away from the cottage - a pretty village and ideal base for exploring Galway, Conemarra and County Clare. Good facilities in the village included two supermarkets, traditional Irish bars and some good restaurants. The boys loved the castle and the pony trekking which were both within five minutes of the cottage and highly recommended.

We had a wonderful week at Kathleen's lovely house and I would highly recommend it to families and couples alike.

Date of stay: August 2011
Value Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowbysta...
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thank you. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the cottage and exploring the surrounding area. I look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing