We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A nice and clean b and b, quiet, lovely host and good breakfast but a bit ordinary for us.

We expected to be in the mountains, or at least the countryside with a view of mountains but were disappointed that the location was just off the main road.

The room was a bit dark due to the windows being built into the roof and for ventilation we needed to open the window in the bathroom and leave the door open.

Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

PROS:
1) the hosts were very good.
2) food was good.
3) the location, although a bit out of the town has its own charm.

CONS:

1) stayed is a triple room. We felt the room was a bit small and we felt crowded. The bathroom is big though.
The room would have been nice as a double bed one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prohemanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Did not want to stay right in Galway, so this was a great spot for a night over. Room was clean, we had a twin and queen bed. Patricia very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic, with our choice of main meal. The views in the yard are incredible. The gift shop in the village is outstanding with a great selection at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmieMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found the hosts Richard and Patricia very friendly and through internet booking we were offered a very good rate for a three night stay. The room we had was clean, quiet and comfortable, but cramped for two people with luggage, and cold at night when the radiators were turned off. Our room had no special view, just the garden and parked cars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welchtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We drove from Spiddal via Clifden, Connemara National Park and Kylemore Abbey and easily found Mountain View Guesthouse. We were greeted very warmly by Patricia and Richard and enjoyed some freshly brewed coffee and home made scones. Our room was a good size and very clean and warm. Breakfast was marvellous. Patricia and Richard were excellent hosts who recommended nearby restaurants and pubs, all within easy walking distance. They also gave good advice on what to see in the area. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked Mountain View based on the reviews received and what a brilliant choice.
Patricia made us feel so welcome and recommended a lovely pub in the village where we enjoyed a quality, cheap meal.
The view from our room was lovely, and the room was absolutely spotless. The radiators were lovely and warm and there was constant hot water for a long soak in the bath.
Breakfast was beautiful and I think its the first time in ages that we've come away from somewhere without having anything negative to say at all!!
The other thing that really stood out was how clean Mountain View is, I tried to do my "Four in a bed" check and could not find one speck of dust anywhere. I even noticed that Patricia kept popping into the dining room to clean the filter coffee pot (fabulous coffee from my coffeeholic husband and a lovely American man called Bob!).

We would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse and two guesses where we will be staying on our next visit to Galway??

Thanks Patricia, really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spotLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at the mountain view for 3 nights., wish it had been 30! The nicest experience of the trip! The propierters (Richard and Patricia) went out of there way to make us feel special, the food was out of this world and the scenery magnificent. Will definately be back and will recommend the mountain view to everyone in Switzerland. Yolanda Bern, Switzerland

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoli1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
1.4 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
165 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
10.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
924 reviews
1.5 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guesthouse

Property: Mountain View Guesthouse
Address: Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View is a family run 4* Guesthouse set in an idyllic location at the start of Connemara and just 20 minute drive to Galway City. All our rooms are en-suite and each decorated to a very high standard. Facilities include TV, Direct dial telephone, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing