We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality and very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed at the Country View during our recent visit to Republic of Ireland. This was our first stop and we had an excellent experience. Patricia was great and even prepared a custom breakfast for me. Would definately stay again.
many thanks

Room Tip: Ask for front view rooms. These are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

A poor B&B. Our room, no.5 had been modernized but a lot of the finer detail was lacking. The head board on the bed kept hitting the wall any time you went near the bed or moved on it so we had to put a towel behind it to stop it banging. The mattress was well used and offered no support. The bathroom was very small with only a cheap shower curtain which didn't stop the water going all over the bathroom. The shower was so small that it was hard to not keep hitting the curtain. All the doors in the B&B and carpeted areas are very old and dated.The doors slam closed as they all use an overhear door closer. This results in you been woken up at all times of the night if other guests are returning to the B&B. There are at least 7 rooms so its not a small B&B. The bed was made up each day and the towels folded and hug back up( dry or not). A dog from one of the houses across the road would come up the B&B drive and bark for over 20mins on most evening which after a long day exploring the area was not nice to listen to when your trying to relax. The dog would also start up its barking a few time in the night but it was not often and not for long but would still wake you up. The breakfast was quite good and the host was fine. But overall we were happy to be going home after our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were given a lovely welcome and stayed for 5 days. The place is very comfortable and clean and the owners are wonderful people. The breakfast was delicious and Patricia gave us lots of tips of where to visit and where to eat. The B&B is in a very good position in very nice surroundings.
thanks for everything!

Room Tip: our two family were next to each other so they were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go4itSliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 might stay here. Comfortable quiet upstairs room. Patricia helped us arrange our trip to Inishmor and made other helpful suggestions regarding dining out and places of interest. The weather was perfect for us. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you have big bags check if they have any downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkuraLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

You couldn't pick a better place from which to explore Galway/Connemara. The area is gorgeous, the accommodation peaceful, clean and comfortable, the welcome as warm as could be.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Mountain View Guesthouse is a very comfortable bed and breakfast located near the village of Oughterard, an easy drive (17 miles) outside of Galway on your way toward Connemara. We used it as a base for exploring Co. Galway. Our family room was very comfortable and clean with excellent beds and linens. The bathroom was large, clean, and had abundant hot water. We enjoyed an excellent full Irish breakfast with additional cereal, fruit, juice, and rolls on a breakfast bar.
My son accidentally left a personal bag and our hostess, Patricia, promptly mailed it to us. We look forward to our next trip to Ireland and will definitely stay at Mountain View again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

A great place to stay! We received a very warm welcome on arrival and were very well looked after. The breakfasts were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
4.8 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#12 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
17.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guesthouse

Property: Mountain View Guesthouse
Address: Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View is a family run 4* Guesthouse set in an idyllic location at the start of Connemara and just 20 minute drive to Galway City. All our rooms are en-suite and each decorated to a very high standard. Facilities include TV, Direct dial telephone, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing