We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unsung treasure of the west of Ireland!”
Review of Glengowla Mines

Glengowla Mines
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Buried beneath the Connemara Mountain lies a way of life long abandoned and almost forgotten just waiting for you to explore! Let the team at Glengowla Mines lead you on a journey of discovery of how lead and silver were mined from the roots of the Connemara Mountains in the 1800’s. The constant dripping of water, the ‘miners breath’ and if you are brave enough - a moment of darkness will set the scene! Delve into the depths of Glengowla mines where you can explore the caverns of marble studded with lead and silver. Follow the veins of copper pyrite which will lead you to the ‘miners gold’ - Galena. Marvel at the rare and beautiful crystals of quartz and fluorite. Learn of the working conditions the miners worked under before the mines closed in 1865. A firm favourite with adults and children alike is to pan for gold and gems at our gold panning station and keep any gems you find! Not only will you enjoy guided tours of the mines, Glengowla is also home to a seismograph which is part of Ireland’s National Seismic Network. See how the seismograph works and how the impact of earthquakes can shake the earth world wide! Glengowla is also working farm where you can visit the Connemara Ponies, meet the Bob the sheep dog, pet the lambs and for advanced group bookings sheep dog herding demonstrations and turf cutting demonstrations are available. Also take the opportunity to enjoy a leisurely stroll through the farm along the old Connemara railway line and discover some of the local flora and fauna. Make a day of it and bring your own picnic! Also available on site: Gift Shop, Refreshments and Outdoor Seating Area, Museum & Free Car Parking.Please Note the mine is now closed for the Winter but if you like to pre book we can run a tour for your group. Mine reopens daily next March.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unsung treasure of the west of Ireland!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

What an incredible experience! ... Glengowla is not to be missed. Our first trip to the Glengowla Mines was in late November 2012. The mine is 40+ meters deep and can flood in winter (depending upon the weather). It is best to visit in the spring, summer thru early fall.

We returned in 2013 to revisit the mine and we had the most wonderful experience. It is a family owned property. We were most impressed with the knowledge and passion that our guide, Keith provided us all; no question goes unanswered.

The mine is easily accessible with stairs, railings and ample electric lighting.
Bring a flashlight if you are an enthusiast and want to see greater detail.
Hardhats are provided.

The personal history and local stories of the mine, really enhanced our experience.
When in Galway, as a tourist, history or mineral enthusiast … this is not to be missed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bptalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    45
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Closed for the winter, not clear on websites”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We made the drive from Galway city to the mines on Nov 2nd and were very disappointed to find it closed for the winter. I phoned the owner, who was blunt in his manner, telling me this. I informed him that any leaflet or website I had seen regarding the mines stated that they were open from March- November. He said he knew this but he didn't seem to care. I was pretty unimpressed with doing the drive for no reason and not even getting a decent apology from him.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGeoghegan, Marketing at Glengowla Mines, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear LydiaEmma,

Thank you for taking the time to review Glengowla Mines. We regret that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Since your telephone call we have updated our website, Facebook and Tripadvisor profile highlighting the mines are closed from the 1st of November and will reopen again on the 1st of March. For tours during the winter advanced booking is required.

We regret that you felt a member of our team did not treat you in the appropriate manner. As you will see from our other tripadvisor reviews this would be the exception and not the rule. Our visitors highly rate their customer experience in particular their interactions with any member of Glengowla Staff.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you on the 2nd of November. We would like the opportunity to improve your opinion of Glengowla Mines. If you would like to discuss your experience further please contact us at sales@glengowlamines.ie

Regards,
The Glengowla Mines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occidental, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Silver & Lead Mine tour & museum”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We really enjoyed going down through the mine tunnels on several levels. You can follow he quartz veins that led the miners to the silver. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the geology and the history. The museum was quaint and Paddy, the owner, was eager to share old mine stories. The tour is on a working farm and includes an old powder house. Well worth the stop if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank calypso1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superior tour guide”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Glengowla Mines is a fairly small attraction - a modest, spent lead-silver mine that only operated for 15 years in the 19th century - but the enthusiasm, knowledge, and humor of our guide Jonathan made it one of the best stops on our trip to Ireland. In my experience, very few guides of geological attractions know what they are talking about but Jon does, and he succinctly and fluidly explained concepts ranging from secondary mineralization to plate tectonics, while also conveying a clear sense of the miners' lives and working conditions.
The gift shop has a good selection of hard-to-find materials on the geology of Ireland and Connemara, as well as nice mineral specimens and whatnot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Glengowla Mine Tour, Oughterard, Co Galway”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Really interesting visit led by a very enthusiastic and informative guide. Lovely walks around the area, gift shop, museum and of course the mine tour itself led to a great afternoon enjoyed by all the family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleA742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glengowla Mines also viewed

Oughterard, County Galway
Roundstone, County Galway
 
Oughterard, County Galway
 

Been to Glengowla Mines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing