We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and relaxing”
Review of Corrib Wave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corrib Wave House
Ranked #13 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are looking for a great relaxing spot to enjoy an amazing view of Ireland with great hospitality this is your place. The view is to die for..you can enjoy it from the water bank, room or porch while having some tea or wine. There is also great access to fishing and all of Connemara. Though a bit outside of Galway that makes this place a vacation and Maria and Michael are the best hosts ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinity4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was an absolutely fantastic place to stay. The owners were very nice and friendly, The rooms very spacious and the view across the lake outstanding. Everything about this place is great.So glad we stayed there pity it was only two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normskiStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were a family group of five adults looking to get a good sense of Connemara. Michael and Maria were the perfect hosts to do the job. They were warm and welcoming from the first hello to the last hug good-bye. The food was wonderful, they accommodated our every request, and they shared their home and their time. They were quick with good information about the area, as well as making the extra effort so that we contacted the right people and enjoyed our experiences. The Corrib Wave House is not a high-gloss over-polished city hotel but a comfortable base to explore the area and enjoy the company of our group, our hosts, and the other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJHinport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Delighted to report that our party has just spent another extended weekends fishing break at the Corrib Wave House. As ever the welcome was warm and humourous with reliably good hearty food. A big breakfast nicely set us all up for the days fishing ahead of us. Its very convenient with the House having its own jetty and boats for hire only a short stroll away down the garden. The convenience was made even easier when, at the end of the long days fish, we had a quick shower and popped downstairs to have very nice dinners.

Been there, seen it, loved it & been back many times - There are not many places that I feel as much at home at, as the Corrib Wave House. I cannot (and do not want to) imagine what the Corrib Wave House would be like without Michael & Maria - I definately look forward to returning and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Every room has an excellent view of Loch Corrib and the surrounding highlands - a beautiful spot. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

When I think of my trip to Ireland, Corrib Wave is what pops into my mind. The stunning view of Lough Corrib was complimented by tasty, hearty Irish food, friendly smiles, banter around the warm, cosy fire and a great location to tour Connemara. The room was spacious and warm with everything you would need. A trip out on the lake on one of the boats was a highlight. It was a pleasure to step away from the hustle and bustle of life and into a relaxing piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It was a spontaneous, maybe also a bit risky, decision to return to a place we had spent a wonderful vacation almost 20 years ago. We were thrilled and pleasantly surprised to find Corrib Wave House as charming as it was then, and its owners, Maria and Michael, as warmhearted, friendly and helpful as they were back in 1992. - The lively talks with them at the turf fire in the evening were the daily highlights when coming back from our day-trips around gorgeous Connemara.

Needless to say that all this, together with Maria's delicious and "honest" food, more than compensated for the rather meager catch from beautiful Lough Connemara. Being out with ghillie Mark was great fun - with or without pikes.

A big thanks to our Irish hosts. We will not wait another 20 years to be back !

Martin Ruth

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife & I wanted to stay a couple of nights near Galway in a B&B and had no previous knowledge of the area. We searched the B&B website, and stumbled upon an amazing looking B&B called the Corrib Wave. We phoned the same day we hoped to stay. Lucky for us they had room. What an incredible property in an incredible location. Sits right on Lough Corrib with stunning lake views. Mr. & Mrs. Healy are very nice, and their B&B is spacious. Our trip coincided with a group of annual UK anglers, and that only added to the fun! Mrs. Healy puts out a large breakfast spread, and in the evenings you will certainly sit in the oversized family room talking with other guests. Oughterad is a lovely little town with several pubs & restaurants worth enjoying, and the location is conducive to day trips to the Cliffs of Moher, Westport, and Galway. Well worth the experience and a great deal!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.8 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#1 of 23 in Oughterard
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
1.4 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#9 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corrib Wave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrib Wave House

Address: Portacarron | Connemara, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corrib Wave House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corrib Wave Farm Guesthouse is the home of Michael & Maria Healy & family. You are assured of a warm welcome to a family home with every comfort, Irish hospitality, superb home cooking, excellent wines, relaxing by open turf fire. Beautiful bedrooms, ensuite with panoramic views of lake and Connemara mountains. Peace & tranquillity awaits you at Corrib Wave, Angling specialists, boats, engines for hire. 18 hole golf course 1km. Ideal base for touring Connemara with its towering mountains, lakes , river, seashore beaches, castles, national park, Kilmore abbey,wild life, sheep pones & Wild Atlantic Way Recommended by Le Guide Routard, Georgina Campbell as best places to stay. Our guest recommends people to stay for more than one night at Corrib Wave.Free secure car parking Free Wi/Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corrib Wave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing