We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep it special”
Review of Currarevagh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currarevagh House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I agree with those who say this is a place for people who value tranquility and quiet relaxation over super modern amenities. Yes the decor of the rooms is somewhat faded but they are comfortable and the public rooms downstairs are cosy and have blazing peat fires.
Our host Henry was wonderful, keen, attentive, knowledgeable and super efficient. His wife Lucy produced vegetarian food for us which was the equal of the very best gourmet restaurants. Dinner at 8 is formally served but very relaxed, we kicked off our shoes and enjoyed the fine wines on offer. Then its back to those peat fires and comfy sofas for coffee and chocs. Everything is home made and breakfast is a treat with warm muffins and classic Irish soda bread.
Overall this is the perfect place to de-stress and let's hope it doesn't change .. it is a very special place

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggie-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

If the world's problems are getting to you, head for this place. Away from everything on the shores of Lough Corrib, this hotel [which was built by the current family's ancestors in 1830 and turned into a hotel by the same family in the 1880s and is still in the same family!] represents all that we feel we have lost that's calming, peaceful, friendly. The food is wonderful, no choice but given the quality of everything we were pleased someone else was doing the choosing. What it's not is a modern all-singing all-dancing place - there are no clocks or radios in the rooms - there is a TV room downstairs but when we were there for 4 nights nobody bothered to put it on [except to check the sports news!]. Many places advertise as being a home from home - this is the first one I've stayed in in 40 years of travelling that really felt like it - tea and cakes [homemade of course] every afternoon. Good company with a succession of guests from different countries - nobody monopolising the conversation - just interesting people. Henry and his wife and parents are true hoteliers. And I'd go back in a shot!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WabbitWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

This is a unique experience at exceptional value. The house is an authentic Irish stately home set in incredibly beautiful surroundings. The hospitality is gracious and welcoming. The food is amazingly good and the serves generous. There is an excellent, well-priced cellar to compliment the cuisine.

The hosts could not be more genial or attentive. I have stayed at more expensive homes/castles in Ireland and none matches Currarevagh as an overall package. There is an authenticity here not found in many of the other theme-park establishments. For a start the owners and staff are actually irish with generations of experience in hospitality.

If you are looking for a luxurious, yet authentic place to spend some time in Ireland look no further. Having toured Europe for 3 weeks at rather nice places costing multiples of the tariff of Currarevagh I was left wondering why I had not cut to the chase and gone straight there again. I have been back 4 time thus far and intend to visit again next year. My favourite place to stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GerryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

A wonderful place to stay so romantic and peaceful, we stayed there for two nights, if you get dinner etc you never have to leave the grounds , its great, we hired a boat and the lough is beautiful, great trout fishing, food amazing, rooms so unique, old worldly i would say, try and get the front rooms amazing views of gardens and lough, the owners are great so friendly, a real experience, def try it out you will not be sorry we where not.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Megan12Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We chose Currarevagh house based on a recommendation from a friend. We were traveling with a rambuctious 8 year old, and doing research in the area which was the reason for the long stay. We were a little nervous about having our son stay in such an elegant setting but there were other kids (who came and went) and we found the owners and the staff to be very tolerant of children, in fact welcoming. This place is not about having the very latest amenities. It is instead an opportunity to step back a century, in the most delightful way. I would be sorry if it were ever "modernized." Very, peaceful and well run and unhurried, which works on one like a tonic. Soaring high ceilings, lovely tall windows, excellent food, excellent library. 150 acre estate. My brother came to visit for part of our trip and liked it so much he came back for a few days after we had left. There was no wi-fi, which was a blessing. You have unplug sometimes!!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank oceantrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Our group of 9 long-time friends from college unanimously agree that this was our best Inn/B&B experience in Ireland. Currarevagh House has been in the Hodgson family for centuries and operated by them as an Inn for over 100 years, with Henry and his wife, Lucy (the next generation, in their early thirties), having taken over 2008. Both are well-educated and well-trained, Henry in hospitality management and Lucy in culinary arts, and have the right skills, passion and gracious attitude to make a stay with them truly unforgetable. The bedrooms are lovely and the public rooms outstanding, particularly the main living and dining rooms, both of which are beautifully decorated, yet very comfortable. Lucy’s cooking is fresh, imaginative and delicious, far and away the best food we had in Ireland. And Henry hosted us, for afternoon tea, pre-dinner Guiness, wine and whiskey, and after dinner cordials, as though the place were ours. Currarevagh House sits on a large, picturesque lake and is a haven for fishing, for tranquil, yet very interesting, nearby walks and hikes, and is a great base to visit the Galway area, the Aron Islands, the interesting villages of Cong and Clifton and for golfing/sightseeing in Connemara (they can recommend several wonderful drives and courses). Our only regret is that we had but three nights at Currarevagh House, as our group is already talking about scheduling a week-long reunion there in a few years.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanford-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

If you are seeking a few quiet days, replete with a genteel step back in time, a slower pace, in a stunning spot on our planet, with terrific food, run by competent...never 'in your face' & very accommodating folks, we would heartily say give them a call. This is an old home. Don't expect the most modern and up to date facilities. However, what you will leave with is a wonderful and fond memory.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GSprott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
20.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
5.9 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,762 reviews
15.6 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
17 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currarevagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currarevagh House

Address: Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range: $222 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Currarevagh House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's longest running guesthouse now managed by the sixth generation of Hodgsons; 180 acres of private lake shore estate, comfortable surroundings offering a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Currarevagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Currarevagh House Hotel Oughterard
Currarevagh Hotel Oughterard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing