We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Currarevagh House
Nearby Hotels
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$4,665
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$270
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
$106
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
255
29
4
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
29
4
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahis mothercakesdrawing roomset menulough corribstep back in timeother guestsold world charmdownton abbeysecond helpingstiger skinvery special placemoment you arriveperfect countryexcellent chefvenison
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 292 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a wonderful, old family home that has been turned into a guest house. People come back year after year because it is so laid back and relaxing to stay here. Every detail has been seen to by the Hodgson family so you feel part of the family yet pampered at the same time. We stayed for two nights and had dinner there both nights. The food was marvelous and a superb value as well. The breakfast was delicious as well as afternoon tea and cakes, if you are there at 4 o'clock. Henry was our only host as his parents were on holiday. He saw to our every need, including easy directions to interesting sites in the area. Our room had a view of the lake as well as the mountains. We have every intention of returning to Currarevagh House on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wonderfully relaxing weekend. This place has character in spades. The hospitality is excellent and so was the food. The setting is wonderful and my only negative is that decoratively it is very worn and tired and could do with a bit of an update. Would I go back, definitely.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The great thing in choosing Currarevagh House is to shed the expectations you have of almost all other premises on this website -- even the really good ones. Currarevagh, run thoughout its existence as a hotel by the ever welcoming Hodgson family, exists as if removed from the pressures of the commercial travel industry. If to you a 'country house hotel' means a chic spa 10 minutes off a motorway you might not like Currarevagh. The fact that people come back year after year shows that many love it. It's a slightly grand family home of the nineteenth century -- but that description won't prepare you for the friendliness of the Hodgsons, who do everything to help their guests. The first time you approach from Oughterard you may briefly think you've got lost -- the map suggests you're driving toward nowhere in particular. In fact the restful location on the shore of the Corrib is unbeatable. So it's almost an extra that the rooms are clean and comfortable and the evening meal (if you take it) excellent. A big breakfast is included in the price, as well as tea and cakes in the afternoon if you haven't gone out exploring. I've stayed in other establishments which aspired to the same understated charm -- but Currarevagh remains head and shoulders above the lot of them. Note that it's not open in winter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westward040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I can't find enough great things to say about Currarevagh House. We were welcomed like family and quickly shown to our room and invited to afternoon tea. The house itself has so much character. Exquisite woodwork, antique furniture, original (or close to) windows. If you are looking for a modern hotel, look elsewhere. The age and craftsmanship of the house are what gives the place its character. Henry and his mother were so charming and helpful with every aspect of our evening, morning and day's plans. We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate our anniversary and all 4 courses were wonderfully done. Pricey but worth it. The bathroom had an actual bathtub which is a rarity and to be cherished. The grounds with walking paths and views of the lake are a great way to get away from it all. Only regret is we only stayed one night. Easily our best accommodations in Ireland.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a beautiful view of the lake and is huge by comparison to others in Ireland.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated on the shores of Lough Corrib (Connemara) in private woodland, this private country house offers comfortable rooms and delicous food in a an informal, delightfully old fashion way. No noise, no television, no radio, no room keys - a perfect place to relax. Also easy to go into Galway and explore the wonderful countryside of Connemara. A dinner gong calls you to the table at 8 p.m. (set menu) and, as well as breakfast, is served with great charm. Coffe, tea and drinks are served after dinner in the drawing room. Henry and his family create a warm atmosphere that makes you really feel at home. If I would be travelling in this area again, I would certainly stay there for more than two days. But don't go there if you want entertainment, modern design and buffet style eating!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christel339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews