We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable gem”
Review of Currarevagh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currarevagh House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a wonderful, old family home that has been turned into a guest house. People come back year after year because it is so laid back and relaxing to stay here. Every detail has been seen to by the Hodgson family so you feel part of the family yet pampered at the same time. We stayed for two nights and had dinner there both nights. The food was marvelous and a superb value as well. The breakfast was delicious as well as afternoon tea and cakes, if you are there at 4 o'clock. Henry was our only host as his parents were on holiday. He saw to our every need, including easy directions to interesting sites in the area. Our room had a view of the lake as well as the mountains. We have every intention of returning to Currarevagh House on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wonderfully relaxing weekend. This place has character in spades. The hospitality is excellent and so was the food. The setting is wonderful and my only negative is that decoratively it is very worn and tired and could do with a bit of an update. Would I go back, definitely.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The great thing in choosing Currarevagh House is to shed the expectations you have of almost all other premises on this website -- even the really good ones. Currarevagh, run thoughout its existence as a hotel by the ever welcoming Hodgson family, exists as if removed from the pressures of the commercial travel industry. If to you a 'country house hotel' means a chic spa 10 minutes off a motorway you might not like Currarevagh. The fact that people come back year after year shows that many love it. It's a slightly grand family home of the nineteenth century -- but that description won't prepare you for the friendliness of the Hodgsons, who do everything to help their guests. The first time you approach from Oughterard you may briefly think you've got lost -- the map suggests you're driving toward nowhere in particular. In fact the restful location on the shore of the Corrib is unbeatable. So it's almost an extra that the rooms are clean and comfortable and the evening meal (if you take it) excellent. A big breakfast is included in the price, as well as tea and cakes in the afternoon if you haven't gone out exploring. I've stayed in other establishments which aspired to the same understated charm -- but Currarevagh remains head and shoulders above the lot of them. Note that it's not open in winter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westward040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I can't find enough great things to say about Currarevagh House. We were welcomed like family and quickly shown to our room and invited to afternoon tea. The house itself has so much character. Exquisite woodwork, antique furniture, original (or close to) windows. If you are looking for a modern hotel, look elsewhere. The age and craftsmanship of the house are what gives the place its character. Henry and his mother were so charming and helpful with every aspect of our evening, morning and day's plans. We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate our anniversary and all 4 courses were wonderfully done. Pricey but worth it. The bathroom had an actual bathtub which is a rarity and to be cherished. The grounds with walking paths and views of the lake are a great way to get away from it all. Only regret is we only stayed one night. Easily our best accommodations in Ireland.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a beautiful view of the lake and is huge by comparison to others in Ireland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated on the shores of Lough Corrib (Connemara) in private woodland, this private country house offers comfortable rooms and delicous food in a an informal, delightfully old fashion way. No noise, no television, no radio, no room keys - a perfect place to relax. Also easy to go into Galway and explore the wonderful countryside of Connemara. A dinner gong calls you to the table at 8 p.m. (set menu) and, as well as breakfast, is served with great charm. Coffe, tea and drinks are served after dinner in the drawing room. Henry and his family create a warm atmosphere that makes you really feel at home. If I would be travelling in this area again, I would certainly stay there for more than two days. But don't go there if you want entertainment, modern design and buffet style eating!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christel339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having arrived exhausted after a very early flight it was indeed a joy to arrive at Currarevagh House. A lovely old house in a beautiful setting run by a family who, in my opinion, know how to get it right. The house is comfortable and pleasantly old fashioned. The curtains fit the windows and make the room dark. There are no horrible little television lights winking through the night. There is no noise . The bed was very comfortable too. Delicious food served with great charm and a good choice of wine at reasonable prices. Whilst writing this I am thinking "when can I go there again!"
We only stayed for one night but wish it had been for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Currarevagh House certainly deserves all the positive support from the Tripadvisor community as far as we are concerned, having just spent 2 very pleasant nights there.
It begins with the perfect secluded location, surrounded by pristine woodland, on Lough Corrib, about 5 kilometers outside of Oughterard. To some, this may seem to be a disadvantage, if you were planning to dine out in the village - but don't be concerned, I'll come back to that!
The house itself dates from around 1840 and has an interesting family history. Stepping through the front door is to almost take a step back in time and you are immediately immersed in a warm homely ambience. But be warned, if modern is you thing, you're in the wrong place!
The hotel was full (as it is much of the time) when we were there and we had a standard room which was admittedly quite small and the bathroom quite cramped. The only negatives we would have - otherwise well equipped and the bed very comfortable.
Currarevagh is delightfully quirky and old-fashioned. Afternoon tea, accompanied by all sorts of home-baked goodies, is taken each afternoon in the drawing room and the dinner gong calls guests to the table at 8.00 each evening. Room keys do not exist, being deemed unnecessary!
Dinner was included on one night of our stay but we ended up dining there on both evenings - a happy reflection on the delights of the cooking and nothing whatsoever to do with Currarevagh's distance from the village. The food was simply delicious and featured an impressive array of local produce. It is a set menu (posted in reception earlier in the day) - but if something is not to your liking, an alternative will be offered. Breakfasts are a similarly lavish affair.
Henry and family are wonderfully caring and hospitable hosts who have created something rather special.
Our only regret, truthfully, was that we did not allow enough time to enjoy the many delights of this part of Connemara and at Currarevegh House - fishing on the lake being a case in point.

Room Tip: Do try and secure one of the bigger rooms on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
20.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,791 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,237 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
17 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currarevagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currarevagh House

Address: Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range: $222 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Currarevagh House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's longest running guesthouse now managed by the sixth generation of Hodgsons; 180 acres of private lake shore estate, comfortable surroundings offering a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Currarevagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Currarevagh House Hotel Oughterard
Currarevagh Hotel Oughterard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing