We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time riding horses in Connemara”

Knockillaree Riding Centre
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time riding horses in Connemara”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful trip in the Connemara mountains. The landscapes were beautiful! The guide was very friendly and he gave us a lot of explanations on the lakes, mountains, ruins and the history of his country! We were 4 peoples, including one very experimented and three novices. We all had an amazing time! Thanks again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarieBaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The best way to discover Connemara, for novices and experienced riders”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This club is located in the most lovely landscapes of connemara. The people there are welcoming and very arranging, we were a group of 8 persons with very different levels, and they took it into account. The novices were a little bit nervous at first and finally got along very well thanks to Roger's pedagogy. Nevertheless the most experienced enjoyed riding at their own speed and had a very pleasant time practicing their passion with an amazing view. A great day for a decent price guarantee !

We would recommend to all, from those who have never approached a horse to those would like to practice everywhere they go !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Great horses and people”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

One of our group wanted to take a horseback ride through the Irish countryside and it fit the bill. Roger was great and picked us up from town as backpackers we did not have cars and were taking public transit. The horses were well fed and cared for. As our group was a few different experience levels they helped us out with the horses. Countryside was beautiful and the ride was well worth the money spent.

Overall a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Knockillaree Riding Centre Experience”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My daughters & I were treated to a most personalized visit and ride during our visit to Ireland. The owner, Roger, was exceptionally accommodating and welcoming. Our hesitation was quickly won over by his reassurance and warmth. Our riding leader, Tom, was friendly and knowledgeable. The girls enjoyed talking with him and he seemed to enjoy the ride as much as we did. He boosted our confidence with his sincere compliments. We felt like family. Off the beaten path, the experience was truly "local" and breathtakingly beautiful and relaxing. They filled the short, evening time we had available with an optimal riding experience on the backroads and hills of Ireland. We will be ever grateful for their expertise and especially, their hospitality. I highly recommend Knockillaree Riding Centre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dherontwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience for all riders -all skill levels!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

On our recent trip to Ireland , a happy coincidence led us to the Knockillaree Centre and the brilliant young trainer, instructor, guide - Roger Joyce. With only a moment's notice, Roger led us on a spectacular trek into the insanely majestic mountains of Connemara. Through glistening mountain streams and cloud covered mountains, we were completely captivated by the raw beauty as Roger shared the history of this land. We had lunch beside the stone mound of an ancient burial site, as we gazed in awe out over peat bogs, mountain ridges and the mists of Galway Bay. All this made even more incredible by the fact that my dear friend had never ridden a horse! Quite a tribute to Roger and his solid, well trained, honest horses. Whether for a day, or two, or more, this is an experience to be shared. Please give Rango and Gypsy a good treat until our return......

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knockillaree Riding Centre also viewed

 

Been to Knockillaree Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing