We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming B&B to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Ranked #10 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I can't say a lot about this B&B because we couldn't enjoy all they had to offer because we went there in March when it was still cold. They have so much to offer when its warm. With that said the stay there was good otherwise. We had a warm welcome when we got there. Our room was big and had a nice bathroom attached. Breakfast was good. We stayed there two nights. The only downfall the first night we were going to take a shower after our long plane ride and the water did not get hot at all and than the next day we found out their boiler went out so we had no heat that day and night and no hot water for showers.
Town is just a 5 minute walk to grab something to eat and we found two local places that served great food.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieCatOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaun, owner at Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

It was unfortunate and frustrating for us to have the boiler go wallop just as Stevie and Cathy came to stay. We would not like the impression be created that we did not try to address the situation as best we could, we did put an electric heater in their room which was used and we kept open fires going with warm duvets..not ideal but the best we could do. We were unaware of the water being cold we did turn on the electric immersion but perhaps there was a time lag between it kicking in and the guests checking fro hot water. Apologies again for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

Camillaun is a charming, modern and well-run B&B. It is quiet but within easy walking distance of the pubs and restaurants of Oughterard. Hosts Deirdre and Greg are friendly and helpful. The house is located on the banks of the pretty Owenriff river (don't miss the riverside walk), and within walking or boating distance of the stunning Lough Corrib and its 365 islands. I have never seen a more beautiful place than Connemara, and this is a great base from which to explore it. Breathtaking scenary and walks on the doorstep. Make sure you take a boat down the river and into the lake. It is an unforgettable experience! Rooms are spacious and light, and immaculately clean. I would recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisMurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We spent two lovely evenings here. Our accomodations were wonderful. Dierdre and Greg warm and welcoming hosts. Breakfasts scrumptious. A lovely riverside setting and we so enjoyed taking a boat for a scenic tour around Lough Corrib at sunset. Oughterard is a lovely little village a short walk down a sweet footpath. And Camillaun offered one of the only hottubs we encountered in Ireland--a perfect way to end a long day our touring. We'd highly recommend Camillaun to others.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obrien-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Camillaun Lodge provided a very comfortable and pleasant accommodation for us. There is a wide range of services and things to do at the B&B ranging from outfitting for fishing on Lough Corrib, golfing, to walking on some great paths and visting the local town Oughterard. The B&B is conveniently located about 25 minutes west of Galway so that you can easily visit the city but have the ability to stay in a very quiet and friendly atmosphere. The owners are very accomodating and knowledgeable of the area and their rooms/common areas are nicely appointed and spacious. Check out their web site for some photos and detailed descriptions of their services. I would stay there again and would very much recommend this B&B either as a stop over near Galway or as a base to tour the western areas of Ireland. It was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank golfnutMcHenry_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank alessandra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jamming1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank smithwicks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#8 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
1.3 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre

Address: Glann Rd, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $93 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camillaun Lodge, situated on the Owenriff river that flows through the village of Oughterard, Connemara, Co. Galway offers all the comforts of a modern house but with the elegance of an old country home. It has 4 guest bedrooms, all en-suite and with wonderful views of the countryside. A short walk via a leafy lane brings you to the village. Hot tub, tennis court and games room are available to all guests. Home cooking and locally sourced food are assured. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing