We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B we stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Ranked #10 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B we stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was the best B&B we stayed in during our two weeks trip in Ireland. Wonderful hostess and an absolutely beautiful room with skylights and lovely ensuite. So clean, tastefully decorated, and great price too! We had asked for help finding a guide for my boyfriend's fishing trip and by the time we arrived it was all arranged. Can't say enough good things about this place - my boyfriend is already planning his Man Adventure with a fishing buddy for next year, and want to come back here. Great place and super helpful. And we loved Spud the wee dog! Location was also excellent as it was just a short 5min walk into town for a bite, and some lovely walking paths right in the village. The boat hire was set up at their own docks right on a little stream that led directly to the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the past 10 years. A perfect spot for a couple of days fishing and golfing. Greg and Deirdre always look after us - even if they're booked out (which can happen quite often). The boat and engine is ready to go each morning after a great breakfast. All we have to do is catch the fish!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManusDNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A lovely spot a short walk from the lake, great comfy house, friendly hosts, with the added advantage that Dierdre used to run a restaurant & so everything (wonderful breakfast, and the little baked yummies that appear w tea after your walk) is just amazingly good.
Plus the feeling that Dierdre & Greg are really happy to welcome you as guests & helpful w any questions or little requests you may have.
Let's just say my only "hesitation" in writing this review is it's the sort of great place I'm not sure I want too many people to discover, to be sure there's room next time I come!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivkaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed there only a single night while on a walking holiday and were very sorry we had to leave so soon.

Deirdre and Greg were very nice hosts you could have a nice chat with and the room was was very comfy.

You can reach the town in less than 5min walk and it is beautifully located near the water.

The breakfast was very good and we felt very welcome and at home while staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband an I fell in love with the location of this B&B. It's tucked away from the main village along a scenic river and shaded by trees. Our Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a lot of options. We were greeted on arrival with tea and biscuits! We had a scenic walk over the river on a small footbridge into the village and we enjoyed exploring the area.

While I can't speak about the angling services, I will say that it's an all around, lovely B&B And I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just been on a few days fishing. Found this b&b has everything for the angler. Good boats at private jetty, tackle & drying room & deep freeze for the fish. A HOT TUB to relax the body after a hard days fishing. Lovely hosts & a friendly welcome .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doylestaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice folk very nice accom'. Excellent for fishing on Corrib. Greg is a fisher so lots of advice. Excellent boats and engines, altogether nothing to mark down of a very good establishment. Secluded but two minutes walk from oughterard which has ace pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
2.7 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
14.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#11 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre

Property: Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Address: Glann Rd, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camillaun Lodge, situated on the Owenriff river that flows through the village of Oughterard, Connemara, Co. Galway offers all the comforts of a modern house but with the elegance of an old country home. It has 4 guest bedrooms, all en-suite and with wonderful views of the countryside. A short walk via a leafy lane brings you to the village. Hot tub, tennis court and games room are available to all guests. Home cooking and locally sourced food are assured. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing