We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Ranked #11 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to this place on Friday night in order to spend the whole Saturday fishing on Lough Corrib. Absolutely thrilled by this B&B. Warm welcome, very good amenities and excellent food (even the packed lunch included a delicious homemade fruitcake).

Not to mention the location, right next the river where you can rent a boat and head up directly to the lake. I would recommend this place to everyone wanting to spend an amazing lake fishing trip. And one last thing, the value is unbelievable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmike4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

This secluded B & B is located on the banks of a river and is very quiet. Yet, it is within walking distance to Oughterard, which is a bustling and charming town. Deirdre, her family and great dog are friendly and welcoming as if they have always known you. The breakfast buffet has lots of choices and Deidre is a great cook. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and a good size. Great location if you are touring Connemara either by car or hill walking, which was the purpose of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJCrease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a beautiful spot! Great breakfast! Loved the dog! Jodi

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodi_cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had a fantastic time! Deirdre and Greg are warm and friendly hosts who went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. Deirdre is a great cook and prepared a special birthday dinner for us in addition to the delicious Irish breakfasts and packed lunches. We spent 3 days fly fishing on beautiful Lough Corrib. Greg is a very knowledgable angler and can supply all you need for a day out on the lake. This is a perfect base for exploring one of the most beautiful and peaceful areas of Ireland. We hope to be able to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan-kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Camillaun was a real treat. Deirdre and Greg were warm hosts, breakfast and dinner were delicious, and the location for perfect for day trip to the southwestern coast of Ireland. Even played tennis with Deirdre and Greg's son Chris (he won). Fishing trips are available with Greg as guide. A short walk into Oughterard affords shopping and restaurants. Cozy rooms with comfortable beds. Overall, a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My goodness..... This place was great, deidre is a fantastic cook, and hostess to accommodate anyone. Her home was so elegant and homey at the same time. The B&B had so much to offer. Snooker, Tennis, basketball, hot tub and fishing. It was very close to town. I recommend if you walk into town and you plan to stay past dark take a flashlight. We walked and stayed out late and had a blast at the pubs until close. We walked back which was very safe but I was so glad I took my flashlight. It was a fantastic B &B. Thank you Deidre and her sister who helped us out for our travels the next day!!! Highly recommend you stay more then one night.
The Harrisons

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clintonharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I can't say a lot about this B&B because we couldn't enjoy all they had to offer because we went there in March when it was still cold. They have so much to offer when its warm. With that said the stay there was good otherwise. We had a warm welcome when we got there. Our room was big and had a nice bathroom attached. Breakfast was good. We stayed there two nights. The only downfall the first night we were going to take a shower after our long plane ride and the water did not get hot at all and than the next day we found out their boiler went out so we had no heat that day and night and no hot water for showers.
Town is just a 5 minute walk to grab something to eat and we found two local places that served great food.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieCatOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaun, owner at Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

It was unfortunate and frustrating for us to have the boiler go wallop just as Stevie and Cathy came to stay. We would not like the impression be created that we did not try to address the situation as best we could, we did put an electric heater in their room which was used and we kept open fires going with warm duvets..not ideal but the best we could do. We were unaware of the water being cold we did turn on the electric immersion but perhaps there was a time lag between it kicking in and the guests checking fro hot water. Apologies again for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#7 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
1.3 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre

Address: Glann Rd, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $92 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camillaun Lodge, situated on the Owenriff river that flows through the village of Oughterard, Connemara, Co. Galway offers all the comforts of a modern house but with the elegance of an old country home. It has 4 guest bedrooms, all en-suite and with wonderful views of the countryside. A short walk via a leafy lane brings you to the village. Hot tub, tennis court and games room are available to all guests. Home cooking and locally sourced food are assured. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing