We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first visit to ireland and what a lovely stay in a beautiful house”
Review of Riverwalk House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverwalk House
Ranked #10 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my first visit to ireland and what a lovely stay in a beautiful house”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

travelled alone to visit my brother in oughterard and what a lovely place the riverwalk house is, the host ann was absolutley lovely and made me feel very relaxed and welcome the moment i arrived, the place is of a very high standard and very clean, the breakfasts are superb and will keep you going until teatime :-) i look forward to my next trip in the new year and hopefully i can book this lovely b&b again, many thanks to you both again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This B&B is immaculate. We met Ann and she was extremely inviting and very helpful about the area. The room was extremely quiet and secure with a fabulous ensuite. The real surprise was the breakfast room - it is a beautiful sunroom with an ideal set-up. Breakfast was wonderful. This was an amazing stay! We hope to return in 2012.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straffan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We really enjoyed every minute we spent in Riverwalk. Ann is a wonderful hostess. The cleanliness is impressive and the environment is really comfortable and beautiful. The room is very good and the heater was really efficient. We loved the shower. The best one even compared to hotels we've been to. Great choices for breakfast! The pets around and the quite neighbourhood makes you feel at home. Great value for money!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Riverwalk House was our first Irish B&B and set a high standard for our next two weeks of traveling. Ann was very warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home. This was especially welcome since we had just experienced our first time “driving on the opposite side of the road” which was a bit nerve wracking to say the least! It is a lovely home with pretty gardens and comfortable rooms plus a very nice sunroom for breakfast. It was a great place to start our day each morning while we enjoyed Ann’s yummy breakfasts. We enjoyed spending evenings in the lounge in comfy recliners as we unwound from a busy day. The extra added bonus was a computer in the lounge that could be used by the guests! It was great to be able to send emails home to share the wonderful time we were having at Riverwalk and in Oughterard. The added bonus was being able to walk into town along the river and enjoy its quiet peacefulness after a day of sightseeing. We loved both Riverwalk House, Oughterard and the surrounding area and look forward to being able to return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnytraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Riverwalk. It is in Oughterard, a very good location to visit the nearby Galway and also Connemara region. The rooms are spotless with comfortable beds. Ann is an excellent host and she prepares a great breakfast in the morning with a very good choice which you can enjoy in the sunny room at the back garden. I would definetely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2010

2 couples traveled together & all 4 of us loved it. Positively stunning rooms & beautiful hallway. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds. (Was such a beath taking relief after seeing a pretty seedy place we turned down.) Ann was a gracious hostess. Price was right Classy. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drcpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed here our first night in Ireland. Ann and Patrick were wonderful, and their home was lovely. it was a short walk into a very small town, but there was just enough to keep us entertained for a morning. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenwaypark2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
3.1 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
165 reviews
19.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#1 of 23 in Oughterard
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#8 of 23 in Oughterard
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk House

Property: Riverwalk House
Address: Riverside, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Riverwalk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing