We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all Anglers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
Cúil Aodha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calling all Anglers”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just noticed that Nonaim Lodge is on Tripadvisor, which is great, because I want to let all anglers know that this place is not to be missed. I've been staying and fishing there since before it was a fishing lodge ( almost 20 years) so I speak from experience.
There is no better spot from which to fish the upper end of Corrib, and no-one who knows more about it than Donal. He seems to know the address and phone no. of every fish in that area!
The boats and motors are top class, the advice, even if you're fishing on your own absolutely invaluable. The food, accommodation, and company are impeccable , and have always been...I've stayed and fished here at least 40 times.
I'd give it six out of five if I could.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

By far the best B&B we stayed at, on our trip to Ireland. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

As fishermen with over 30 years experience of fishing Corrib it was a blow when our previous accomodation provider closed due to the death of the owners.
We found Nonaim off the web and liked the write up and decided to give Donal and Connie a chance to provide us wth a base on Corrib.
This was the best decision we could have made. Nonaim is warm, friendly and very convenient for the lake and Donal has all of the equipment you'd need to fish and the accomodation itself is excellent.
Nonaim has been upgraded to provide truelly comfortable accomodation and the breakfasts are just great!
We've been back since our first visit and would not consider staying anywhere else when we travel to Corrib in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room if its available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

From the first time i went to Nonaim lodge back in 1999 i was blown away by the quiet peaceful location.That was before i even got on the lake,Don's sole purpose was to put us on the fish and we knew we were in safe hand's.The level of customer service is second to none which has seen me return over 20 times since.This is a big lake and can be daunting but with guides like these it can be fully enjoyed,the food and facilites are perfect and you won't find two harder working host's than Don and Connie.
Rob Cooksley Somerset uk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Been down three times and had a ball every time. Accommodation is first class , breakfast brilliant , all overlooking the Lough.
Went out fishing with Donal , always caught fish , learned about the area and had a great time.
I think the whole set up is very hard to beat .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at nonaim lodge in 2011 and 2010 with a group of 4 others. It has always been a real treat. The facilities are 1st class and location is out of this world. I'd certainly recommend Donal to guide you on a fishing trip for the day.But you don't need to be into fishing to enjoy the scenery of connamara and local hospitality in the nearby village of Oughterard. I didnt go this year due to redundancy and really missed the place but will try my best to visit next year. Very many thanks see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

So, if you are prepared to venture a little off the track, but want to be rewarded with great hospitality, comfortable accommodation, fantastic fishing (if that's what you want to do, I advise you to use the service of the owner, Donal, who is an exceptional fishing guide and great company) then nonaim is for you. My father and I have visited on at least 10 occasions, having used a number of b and b's in the area before discovering nonaim. We love it, and health permitting, will continue our annual visit for years to come.

We go for the fishing but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to outdoor couples, walkers, etc. and only ten mins from town are 5 pubs, one of which, the anchor, has the best Guinness I ever drank. The beer keg is only 40 cms from the end of the tap, thus the beer is as perfect as you will ever get served through clean lines!

Room Tip: Hire a car and make the most of the area, so much to see. Visit linane, westport, achill island, scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.0 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
165 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
191 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
16.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation

Property: Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
Address: Shannawagh | Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing