We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for our last night in Ireland”
Review of King Sitric

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King Sitric
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Great place for our last night in Ireland”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We normally stay at an airport hotel the night before we fly. Sitric was only about 30 minutes of an easy drive, right on the water, absolutely gorgeous view and with a fresh seafood meal included. It was great.

The rooms are all named after lighthouses. Ours was "Rockabill" which I initially thought was just a corruption of "Rockabilly". We sat in the window and looked at the storm tides while sipping some of the fine Greenspot Irish Whiskey we had earlier bought from the Celtic Whiskey trader shop on Dawson St. We walked the sea wall/promenade in a pretty stiff gale.

The dinner was fresh, the service great. The parking was free, the trip to the airport easy and out of most of the Dublin traffic jam. This sure beats any airport hotel.

The views from the restaurant were also grand. What a great spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    49
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
114
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Comfortable room, delicious food, of course. This was easily one of the nicest stays we have had in Europe and the British Isles. The room was clean and filled with light, the views were spectacular morning and evening, the smells and sounds of the Irish Sea were alternately invigorating and soothing. The food at the King Sitric was some of the best we have had in Ireland, both at breakfast and at supper. It is not a small operation, yet Joan learned our names right away and both she and her team were very careful to ask about our needs and fill them quickly. Now if you are expecting American style corporate luxury -- oversized rooms and oversized meals -- you might be disappointed. But in that case, I'd recommend Houston. If you like very fresh seafood, though, prepared by people who appreciate very fresh seafood, you will like this place.

Room Tip: Rockabill (the rooms are named, not numbered), at the top of the stairs, has windows opening out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrcjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just returned from Ireland. We spent our first night at the King Sitric in Howth. We had a very nice room looking out on the Irish Sea. Joan is a great hostess. She upgraded our room for free just because she could. The hotel is close to a wonderful coastal trail where you can walk for hours. The Irish breakfast was divine. It was our first experience traveling in Ireland and it was a great start. I would highly recommend staying here. It is only a twenty minute train ride into Dublin.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room very clean a little dated but nice, tea, coffee and water in rooms. Joan very friendly and welcoming without being over the top. breakfast beautiful, I told my husband it was the best breakfast I have ever had. Our room was ground level i think first floor would have a better view. No allocated parking however we found A space a short walk away. Slightly over priced but on reflection probably worth it. We would definately stay here the next time we are in howth. Howth has lots of restaurants but next time we will try cafe bar at king sitric. The weather was good for October so it was great to sit outside and people warch

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirleyanne46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good, had been told would be exceptional which it was not. The service was however exceptional, freindly and efficient. Price did not seem unreasonable. We were a group of 11 middleaged and more men on a golfing trip and the freindliness really helped foster a great trip - thank you

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have had dinners here many times over the years and all were excellent. This time it was lunch in the groundfloor winebar opening out onto the harbour. Had the fishcakes and a glass of wine - once again very nice. Also nice to be able to have the dog with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here over a bank holiday weekend. Had a lovely break and would strongly recommend.

Love Howth and concentration of seafood restaurants with the King Sitric pertfectly located on the sea front.

Our room was beautifully furnished, spacious and spotless. The view was great with uninterupted views over the harbour and sea. The position of the building at the end of the street meant that there was very little passing traffic to disturb a good nights sleep. Was nice to leave the window open and listen to the waves through the night.

Breakfast was a highlight, selection and all beautifully cooked / presented. The owner was also on hand in the restaurant to help out in any way, either in terms of the restaurant, accomodation or indeed in planning the days activities.

We had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was, as expected, top class. Our only regret is that we didnt give the wine bar on the ground floor a go for dinner one of the nights as there was a great atmosphere and plenty of people about - the upstairs dining is a bit more formal. (wine bar was nice for an afternoon stop off).

I love this place for its proximity to the harbour and all the other restauarnts, cafes and general buzz. If staying in Dublin, should always consider this place as a possibility. Its at the upper end of the price bracket and for accommodation alone, its probably difficult to justify but where this place comes in its own is the food with accommodation.

Not sure what it would be like with kids but works well for couples. Hope to get there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneandCaitriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howth
3.8 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
6.1 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,736 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
4.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Sitric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Sitric

Property: King Sitric
Address: | East Pier, Howth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Howth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Howth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Aidan and Joan MacManus have earned an international reputation for fresh seafood in their harbour-side restaurant in the picturesque fishing village of Howth. In 1999, they extensively rebuilt their old Harbour Master's house, relocating the restaurant to the first floor with panoramic seaviews, and adding eight guest bedrooms. All the bedrooms are named after Lighthouses and have sea-views. DINING Fresh fish landed daily on Howth Pier, oysters and mussels from the west, lobster caught by our own fishermen in Balscadden Bay are among our specialities. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink in our East Cafe Bar while choosing your wine from our outstanding Wine List. National Hospitality Awards Best Seafood Restaurant 2014. We are situated in the golfing heartland of North County Dublin and for sailors Howth Marina is three minutes walk. Enjoy a gentle stroll on the Pier before breakfast or a more energetic hike on the unspoilt Cliff Path and the trails of Howth Head. For business, shopping or sightseeing, Dublin City is only 25 minutes by Dart. Dublin Airport 25 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your King Sitric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Sitric Howth
King Sitric Hotel Howth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing