We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading room description leads to disappointment. Nice food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King Sitric Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Misleading room description leads to disappointment. Nice food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for an impromptu night's stay after perusing Ireland's Blue Book. We have found it in the past to be a useful way to select a slightly more 'special' type of accommodation or dining experience.

We (my fiancé, our 9 year old daughter and myself) requested the Penthouse room - as it was described as being spacious and very well appointed with beautiful views. I explained at the time of booking that our daughter would be staying in the room with us, and asked for a bed to be arranged to accommodate her. I was assured this was no problem whatsoever. We elected to avail of the one night dinner bed and breakfast offer at €260, although on the expensive side, we felt the accommodation should be at least up to Blue Book standards, so felt assured.

We arrived on a Saturday evening at 7pm, to be greeted by what I can only describe as a 'Saturday Girl'. She didn't think to lead us to our room - instead she walked behind us, which made things awkward as we hadn't a clue where our room was and the number of doors and stairs to negotiate en route meant we were constantly stopping and asking her where next?

On arrival at the Penthouse Room, I can only say that I was genuinely completely underwhelmed. The room was an average size but with huge bed eclipsing it (I think it was 2 singles pushed together with no duvet - just a sheet and blanket) - and more worryingly, no sign of a bed for our daughter. On mentioning this to the girl, she looked at us blankly and asked could our daughter not sleep in the bed with us?? (?!?!) When we suggested that perhaps she could arrange a bed to be made up for our daughter, she shrugged and returned a few minutes later with the restaurant manager. He too admitted he was at a loss as to know what to do, but could probably source a single bed from one of the other rooms, however didn't know where the bedlinen was so said he would have to phone the owner to get her to come in to make up the bed.

Slightly embarrassed for them, we suggested we would leave them to it, and hoped there would be a bed made up in time for our daughter's bed time! They assured us that this would be the case, and about an hour later the bed was squeezed in. This did however mean there was very little room to manoeuvre and we couldn't use the chest of drawers or the dressing table. Not quite the spacious penthouse experience we were lead to expect.

Incidentally the bedroom furniture was tatty and mismatched. The curtains were coming off at the hooks and although there was a sea view, there was condensation between the double glazing. Bulbs were blown in 2 of the lamps, and the complimentary toiletries.....well, suffice to say, unless they are of a reasonable quality, then just don't bother. Cheap complimentary toiletries are not better than none at all. But perhaps providing 2 bathrobes and disposable plastic wrapped slippers makes some clients feel they are in luxury accommodation?.....

Our visit improved when we ate in the renowned seafood restaurant - our meal was very pleasant and with a nice view. Our table was booked for 9pm but unfortunately we were the last and only table eating at this time, so the restaurant lacked atmosphere. I'd recommend an earlier dining time, but still would've expected more customers at 9pm on a Saturday night.

We were woken at 5am by the squawking of seagulls which perched on the roof outside our bedroom window for what seemed like eternity, but was really just an hour or so. Not something the hotel can do much about, and we appreciate being at the coast it is hardly surprising, but it did not allow us the relaxed Sunday morning lie-in we were hoping for.

In the morning, we had a very nice breakfast served in the restaurant. The owner was very attentive and welcoming, and was very helpful. It was handy being able to check out at the breakfast table.

I'd sum up by saying the restaurant is worth a visit, but for €205/night for the accommodation, I'd suggest going elsewhere for better value for money. The accommodation let down what otherwise would've been a pleasant experience in a nice area of Dublin.




  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CathyMac1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    49
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
22
110
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

King Sitric was brought to our attention by an Anthony Bourdain feature from a few years ago on his "No Reservations" show. SO GLAD WE WATCHED IT!!! We were greeted by Louie in the East Bar on arrival who showed us to our room as Joan, Aidan's wife, had stepped out for a moment. By the time we came down from our room she was back and attended to us like we were old friends. We never lost that feeling during our stay. We met Aidan, the owner and chef, the following morning at breakfast and, again were made most welcome. The food, service and functional aspects of King Sitric are well done but it is the atmosphere created by the people who made every aspect of our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Great food and folks....what more can one ask?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyguyRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is small but has fantastic food and friendly staff. Highly recommend a visit. Sea food chowder was great and seafood platters are fantastic. We had to wait to get seated because it was so packed but definitely worth the wait. Allow plenty of time to get into Howth from Dublin, can be a slow process.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marksonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Joan and Aidan's warm welcome and continued customer service was bar none! I stayed with a group from the states and they made us feel as if we were visiting our favorite aunt and uncle. From day one they remembered each of our names and details about what we liked for breakfast. The rooms are cozy and clean and the location is spectacular, only a few feet from the sea wall. It's close proximity to everything and the restaurant's delightful cuisine made this one of the most enjoyable stays I had in Ireland. I recommend King Sitric for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We keep coming back, for the great food and the warm hospitality. This January we held a conference at the King Sitric and all the participants loved the place. One of the owners, Joan MacManus, even read a love poem in Irish for our group so they could hear the language. On their evaluation forms, they could rate the place from 1 (poor) to 5 (excellent) and their comments were: 5: I felt so taken care of; 5: Just great; 5: Joan was wonderful and allowed me to store my allergen-friendly food; 5: Lovely; 5: Fantastic; 5: Joan and Aidan provide great customer service;
5: Fabulous. Thanks so much for another wonderful visit. And did we mention the food? Unbeatable! Ted & Annie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted29Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The restaurant has very good menu with good selection of wines. my favourite is their lobster, the best in howth. This one of the restaurant where you have to leave a space for desert! This is perfect place for romantic dinner. The restaurant has only few tables & you don't have impression that the guests at next table are seating with you... The staff is very professional, helpful in choosing a right dish.

Room Tip: Romantic dinner in howth
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Aleksandr... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Ireland for the Navy versus Notre Dame football game in Dublin. We wanted to stay away from the city but be able to ride the DART to Dublin for touristing and the game. Howth was the perfect place. The town is a small seaside village with several nice restaurants and a small town feel. We were able to ride the DART in and out of Dublin. It is a twenty minute ride to the heart of Dublin ... much better than driving and trying to find parking in Dublin. I contacted Joan at King Sitric and booked one of the rooms on the top floor. The room was very nice with sea views and sea sounds at night. The breakfasts were wonderful and served in the King Sitric Restaurant overlooking the harbor. Everything served for breakfast was excellent. A buffet featuring fruit, cereals, and breads, and then great hot meals. I learned quickly that their Full Irish, while delicious, was too much to eat so Joan modified it to a smaller verson featuring a "Babe" sausage and fried eggs. My wife loved the salmon and eggs. Our stay was wonderful and the hosts met our every expectation. If we were to come to Irelaand again this would be one of our stays. I know you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howth
3.8 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
6.1 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,651 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
534 reviews
4.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
344 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Sitric Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Sitric Guesthouse

Property: King Sitric Guesthouse
Address: | East Pier, Howth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Howth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Howth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Aidan and Joan MacManus have earned an international reputation for fresh seafood in their harbour-side restaurant in the picturesque fishing village of Howth. In 1999, they extensively rebuilt their old Harbour Master's house, relocating the restaurant to the first floor with panoramic seaviews, and adding eight guest bedrooms. All the bedrooms are named after Lighthouses and have sea-views. DINING Fresh fish landed daily on Howth Pier, oysters and mussels from the west, lobster caught by our own fishermen in Balscadden Bay are among our specialities. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink in our East Cafe Bar while choosing your wine from our outstanding Wine List. National Hospitality Awards Best Seafood Restaurant 2014. We are situated in the golfing heartland of North County Dublin and for sailors Howth Marina is three minutes walk. Enjoy a gentle stroll on the Pier before breakfast or a more energetic hike on the unspoilt Cliff Path and the trails of Howth Head. For business, shopping or sightseeing, Dublin City is only 25 minutes by Dart. Dublin Airport 25 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King Sitric Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Sitric Howth
King Sitric Hotel Howth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing