We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm sorry I missed the message”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howth
Inishcrone, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“I'm sorry I missed the message”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here our last 2 days in Ireland after visiting Mayo. The hotel is old but well kept. The waiter for breakfast was rude. The pool steam and sauna were great. The view from our room was very nice. The golf course is well maintained and a good challenge. Will return again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    72
    68
    36
    39
See reviews for
70
97
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I agree with most reviews, hotel needs updating - a refurb could see it become a 4*, no problem. But as it is it's a tired hotel albeit with great facilities, location, views, etc & nice staff.
Couple of issues,
Food: breakfast, is a buffet but food not maintained at correct temp, ie lukewarm going onto cold plates, selection & quality very average. Dinner, processed frozen chicken goujans - very poor. It's not hard to slice up some fresh chicken fillet.
Payment: when I go to a country with a different currency I pay in their currency. As I was struggling with luggage etc I paid and left in a hurry, assuming the payment was as stated on invoice. It wasn't until I was home that I noticed the hotel had turned into a bank and charged my card in sterling (not the euro figure stated on invoice) and added a 3.5% conversion mark up!!! Very sneaky (though not uncommon with hotels I now have discovered). On the credit card receipt it stated I was offered choice of currency to pay and that I agree to this scam - not true. Invoice clearly stated price in euros and MY bank do the conversion without a 3.5% mark up thank you very much. We did mostly enjoy our weekend but left feeling a bit miffed.

Stayed 2-4 Nov, Room 152.

Room Tip: Don't get ripped off on the currency conversion, this is not for your convenience as some hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I have brought your remarks regarding breakfast to the attention of our restaurant manager and I do apologise that the food and plates were not as warm as they should be. The chef assures me that they do not use processed chicken goujons but that they make their own from fresh chicken and I am sorry that you were not happy with the meal. Regarding the payment by credit card, we are really very upset to think that any of our guests would feel that we were trying to work a scam and rip them off – this is completely untrue. If the customers account is in a different currency to Euro, the credit card machine automatically offers them a choice of currencies for payment. They are first given a quote and then they have to verify their choice of currency and amount by putting in their pin number to confirm. The conversion rate is nothing to do with the hotel – it is automatically added by the company that provides the credit card machine and the bank in question. Most people would find that it is better to choose the currency of the country they are in to get the best rate but due to daily fluctuation in exchange rates this cannot always be guaranteed to be the best choice. I am sorry that these issues took away from what was otherwise an enjoyable weekend with us.
Best wishes.
Catherine - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is nice in a good location for trips to Dublin but would benefit from a little TLC to make it fantastic! We stayed in room 135, this is a lovely big ground floor room with fantastic views over the bay, the only thing that let it down was the dust on the table legs & chairs. The beds were very comfortable but the room was just a bit too warm during the night to have a restful sleep, although the hotel was full of families during our stay I heard no noise at all during the night. The food was lovely, we ate in the restaurant and the bar, the service was much quicker in the bar and the same standard of food as in the restaurant for a cheaper price, we waited an hour and a half for our meal in the restaurant and only 10 minutes in the bar! The pool is fantastic, lovely and warm with a jacuzzi and steam room. We didn't use the gym but it looked ok. The golf course to the left of the Golf Shop is great for beginners and families and clubs are available to hire for a small fee. The DART into Dublin is only 20 minutes for a reasonable price, there is a free bus available from the hotel into Howth.
We stayed on a supervalu break deal so the price for two nights B&B with 1 evening meal was very good for a Dublin hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Deerpark Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 135 is a lovely spacious family room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. We are delighted to read that overall your experience was a good one and that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt it to be good value. We do hope you will return and stay with us sometime in the future.
Kind regards.
Catherine White – Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for one night to participate in the Dublin Marathon. Very easy to find & nice quite location which was exactly what I needed. Guests have use of the gym & pool.

Ate in the bar, meal was ok but got charged almost €5 for a small non-alcoholic beer!

Left before breakfast was served so no idea what that was like. Staff were very friendly & helpful & my room was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you did well in the Dublin Marathon - we had quite a few guests staying with us that were taking part and they were all looking forward to it.
Kind regards
Catherine - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

One of the worst places I've ever stayed. It's grotty and cold and breakfast was very poor. On a positive note the staff and views were pleasant. However this would not be enough to convince me to EVER stay here again! Even if you get a deal (as we did!) pay a little extra and stay somewhere else for some actual comfort & peace of mind!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FJNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations but at the same time I cannot agree with all your comments. The building is over thirty years old and not a brand new hotel but we do carry out a continuous maintenance and renovation programme throughout the year and especially in the quieter months. I would think that this is what most property owners do rather than deciding to demolish a perfectly good building. We have had a complete new heating system installed and this is now working very satisfactorily but as with all new installations it does have some teething problems which we now seem to have solved. Your decision not to stay with us again is regrettable as our aim is to ensure that all our guests leave happy and plan on a return visit – but we know we cannot please everyone.
Best wishes.
Catherine White – Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Howth hotels

Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Deer Park Hotel for four days using it as a jumping off point for Dublin and surrounding area excursions. It is close to the DART station for a quick trip into Dublin – about 20 minutes. The hotel will drive you to the station but it is a very easy walk. The hotel and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. The view from our room window was amazing and we had fun our last day just wandering around the grounds. We did not use the golf club, spa or pool facilities but it all looked very nice. Food was good too. And the hotel, hands-down, had the best Wi-Fi of any place we stayed in Ireland. We did not have trouble with either heat or hot water as other reviewers mentioned. However, the hotel is definitely not living up to its full potential. There was a fair amount of “deferred maintenance” in some of the rooms, halls, etc. I really, really wanted to get my paint brush and scrub brush and get to work. Overall, considering the good price, great location, and excellent staff it is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you found our location ideal for easy access to Dublin city centre whilst staying in a beautiful peaceful area. It is also very good to hear that the free Wi Fi was the best you experienced during your stay in Ireland! You will be glad to hear that our maintenance team have their paint brushes etc. out and are already started on work throughout the hotel now that we are in the low season and can access more areas.
We do hope that you will return and stay with us whenever you are in Dublin again.
Kind regards.
Catherine – Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I won't waste time going over old ground from previous reviews but would like to add our experience. We stayed for 3 nights from 12th Oct 2012 in room 140.

It was reasonably clean, however the room was very cold and the bathroom was glacial. We asked for heat and were told that radiators would come on at 15.30, however it was actually 17.00 as the room is at the end of the line. We asked for and were promised a small heater on 5 occasions before giving up on the (very nice but not helpful) reception staff. We spoke to the manager. He contradicted his staff, stating that the hotel doesn't posess any! He also stated that all communual rooms were heated all day (not true). He did grudgingly offer to advance the heating on Saturday afternoon and this helped somewhat.

The setting of the hotel is lovely, however we couldn't enjoy the view from our room, as we needed to keep the curtains firmly closed against the cold air from the window!

It's a shame that we could not fully enjoy our stay, as with minimal effort, (such as keeping rooms warm), we would have been repeat visitors. We do visit Ireland fairly regularly due to family ties but will be seeking alternatives for next time....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry that you felt the hotel to be too cold during your recent visit which resulted in you not enjoying your stay with us. I know the dates you were here were exceptionally cold with strong winds too. Our heating system is on a timer and it is not possible for us to have the heating on throughout the day and night. Having said that, with our new system we are able to boost the heating when required for an hour at a time in specific areas outside of the set times and this normally works well but obviously when you were staying we got it wrong and I sincerely apologise for this and for the fact that it spoiled your stay with us. We would love if you would reconsider staying with us again when you visit your family in Ireland and so give us the chance to make it up to you. Please do contact me direct if you do decide to return.
Kind regards.
Catherine – Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howth
3.2 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
359 reviews
5.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,972 reviews
7.0 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Howth, Howth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Howth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Park Hotel is situated in the grounds of Howth Castle and surrounded by its own golf courses and yet only 9 miles from Dublin City Centre and Airport. Facilites include swimming pool with sauna and steam room and 2 all weather tennis courts. All rooms have bathroom, shower, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Four Earls Restaurant offers an excellent menu including fresh fish from nearby Howth Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Hotel Golf Howth
Deer Park Hotel Golf And Spa
Deer Park Hotel Course
Deer Park Howth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing