We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cracking food at a great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deep

Deep
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 806 3921 They've got a couple of rave reviews from newspapers displayed in their restaurant, but unfortunately I didn't note which papers they were. Their seafood was incredibly fresh, perhaps bought right off of the docks. We had incredible fried oysters and a hearty seafood chowder as appetizers, then an earlybird seafood special for two for dinner which included fishcakes, crawfish, mussels, Dublin Bay Prawns, squid, smoked salmon, and a small salad. Beautifully plated, amazingly delicious. I hope you're able to get more info because this place is not to be missed!
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cracking food at a great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

we went to Howth for a day out (during a weekend stay in dublin visiting family) and we were walking along the front looking for something to eat and chose this restaurant, when we went in we were seated and from then on nothing was too much trouble. the food was out of this world and we were left to enjoy our food at our leisure. the waitresses we could not fault as they were attentive and gave us good choices for our meals. the restaurant was full when we were there in the afternoon and we were told that in the evening they were fully booked out. the choice of wine was brilliant and next year when we go to Howth for a long weekend instead of a day trip we will definitely be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeMcGf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    176
    41
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
327 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A small but charming restaurant on the harbour with a nice menu and good service. Had very good fresh fish and enjoyed a nice atmosphere. Ask for a table away from the door as there can be quite a draught as people come and go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy restaraunt in a picturesque location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The meal we had here was really good, the fish and seafood was fresh, fair catch of the day. I would recommend to book in advance and come here around 8pm, after the rush hour, and then have a walk around to make the evening perfect. Early bird menu offer is very affordable and you can be sure that the quality will be great. Don't miss the desert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good fish. Great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having walked the cliff walk on Wednesday last, two of us shared a platter of fish (no 2) and a bottle of S A Sauvignon Blanc at an outside table. Very enjoyable. The food was terrific. As was our waiter, Kamil - he's from N/E Poland and speaks English, not to mention some Irish, like an Irish person!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

went to howth area for a day out with two friends yesterday 6/8/13.We lunched at Deep and what a truly enjoyable experience. We ordered a fish platter for three from a menu of great choice and it was outstanding.The wine list was excellent and the staff were friendly and most helpful. Service was prompt and we enjoyed a lovely afternoon in very pleasing and comfortable surroundings.Big thank you to staff and management in Deep I will be recommending to friends and family and hope to return in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theclabrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing