We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood platter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deep

Deep
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 806 3921 They've got a couple of rave reviews from newspapers displayed in their restaurant, but unfortunately I didn't note which papers they were. Their seafood was incredibly fresh, perhaps bought right off of the docks. We had incredible fried oysters and a hearty seafood chowder as appetizers, then an earlybird seafood special for two for dinner which included fishcakes, crawfish, mussels, Dublin Bay Prawns, squid, smoked salmon, and a small salad. Beautifully plated, amazingly delicious. I hope you're able to get more info because this place is not to be missed!
llandudno
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great seafood platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely seafood platter of calamari, mussels, smoked salmon,fish cakes and brown bread, and had the best seafood chowder I have ever tasted.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    173
    38
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch if you like Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Really enjoyed the Seafood platter for two here for €27 which included Calamari/Crayfish/Prawn Cocktail/Smoked salmon on Brown Bread/ Mussels in Garlic and White Wine sauce/Fish Cakes/lots of dips and more I can't think of! Good selection of wines available too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reeldeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood platter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We ate on a Monday evening, so a quiet night in general. We had the larger seafood platter for two, which was delicious. The meal was leisurely and served by friendly staff. Would definitely return!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GTS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food but too many people!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

visited deep and cannot complain about food or service but we just wanted a quiet meal. however we were squashed in a corner and tables were moved to squeeze in extra patrons even though there were plenty of free tables. we ended up thinking we were part of a large party you could not have a private conversatiom! My advice to owners think about layout of restaurant or you will put patrons off

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is a lot of choice on Howth pier and its hard to pick which restaurant to visit. Let me make this easy for you. Pick Deep!

We had an amazing lunch here and can't recommend the seafood platter enough. This comes with smoked salmon, fishcakes, battered prawns, mussels, deep-fried calamari, crayfish and dipping sauces.There's plenty on it for two (order chips on the side for dipping into the creamy sauce over the mussels!) and when paired with the very reasonably priced prosecco you're onto a winner.

Service was good despite the place being packed, though dessert wasn't great. I will definitely return for that platter though!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing