We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish restaurant!”

The Oar House Fish Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The West Pier in Howth is scattered with a range of fish shops and restaurants. The Oar House Restaurant is nestled in amongst this stretch of seafood extravagance.The Oar House serves the freshest of fresh fish, simply and sympathetically cooked in our open plan kitchen. In addition to our menu, each day our specials are based on the catch that day, giving our customers the opportunity to sample seafood as it should be.We are open from lunchtime seven days a week until late and look forward to seeing you soon.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I had a great hike in Howth, followed by the perfect seaside meal at the Oar House. The restaurant was crowded, but we had a pint down the pier and returned for dinner without difficulty. The house wine was very good, and we enjoyed delicious meals prepared right in front of us. The meal was very reasonable. A perfect way to end the day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    296
    72
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a late lunch there and we both ordered fish and chips which were very good, fresh, and and portion was generous. This is a very casual restaurant and the atmosphere is very nautical and tastefully done. The service was good and price was average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expected more from the awards posted around the place”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

3.5 overall.

It wasn't too busy at the time we dined. The service was friendly but markedly slow. The restaurant sits in a very convenient location and has a nice ambiance.

The fish and chips didn't live up to expectations (specifically in terms of texture), but the portion size was very generous and the sides were well-prepared.

The desserts we tried were very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
1 review
“Awesome food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is simple, a great seafood and fish restaurant, the food was really good, specially the mussels and the crab salad. One advice, don't expect to find guinness here, they only serve wine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place serves delicious very fresh sea food,we all chose different meals from the selective menu. I fancied the cod pie,good choice ,the best ever tasted including home made.All of us were very pleased with our food.The staff were friendly and although busy we were not kept waiting for long
We had taken the train from Dublin to visit this place , after being reccomended,wich definately was not a wasted journey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oar House Fish Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to The Oar House Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing