We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Moving, better along the pier”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill
Price range: $28 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ivans Bar and Grill, located on the West Pier of picturesque Howth Harbour, uniquely brings together the very freshest of local seafood with the highest quality ingredients fresh from the Market. Its interiors combine natural wood and tile finishes with plenty of light and airy views over the bustling harbour
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Keep Moving, better along the pier”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Been coming to Howth for 20 years, couple of years ago visited the Tapas at Beshoffes, since the winter they decided to change their chowder, it is runny, no taste, lacking any fish. How can you go from a wonderful Howth recipe at this same place, to a cheap, very costly, premade waste of time. The Tapas choices also getting smaller and not made to the same quality. Notice that Ivans is closed during the week, I assume they will be closing completely soon, their father must be very sad at the mess that has been formed. Too much good food on the West Pier, your off my list and through my business relationships, you will not be visited by any friends or client's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arctic_O_Ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    45
    22
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Lobster!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Went as a large family group and had some misunderstandings over our order but the lobster was so good its a must! We will be returning!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank missnaughtynessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fish or Cut Bait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Ivan's is a large, airy restaurant in the Dublin seaside suburb of Howth. Howth being a fishing port, the village has a good selection of fish and seafood restaurants. We decided on Ivan's, not knowing it, as my nephew is wheelchair-bound and good wheelchair access is vital. This did not pose any problem in Ivan's as the wide entrance doors led into wide aisles between tables.

The food was a good, relatively narrow selection of local fish and seafood. Our starters consisted of pili-pili gambas, calamari and oysters. All were excellent. Main courses we had were two fish & chips (the fish was, I believe, haddock) and one tuna nicoise salad. The fish was very fresh and beautifully cooked in a light batter. The tuna was pan-seared and delicious.

Our table waiter, Amilcar, was discretion and service personified. All of the foregoing created a lunch for the three of us which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“A sensible restyling!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Every time I have visited Howth over the last few years I have had great food in Ivan's .... but been dismayed at how few other diners there were.

Then, when I was in Howth last winter, Ivan's seemed to be closed.

I was therefore relieved to find it open again this time, and pleased that they seem to have restyled the place. It is now more reasonably priced and doesn't open in the evening - i hope that this new policy saves it, for the food is very good indeed!

A trio of us ate a late lunch there last week - two of us had the tuna nicoise (excellent)and the third the traditional fish & chips for which the Beshoff family is rightly famous. There were other eaters there too - notably a large group of cheery ladies who started out sitting bravely outside and then moved in as the day grew less sunny. They obviously were having a very good time - as, indeed, were we!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gambas Al Pil Pil?? ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Ordered the gambas al pil pil as a tapas dish. For €8.95 and "pil pil" with chile I expected it to be a larger portion than 5 measly bland prawns in a pool of butter

Helpful?
Thank jlunden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing