We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute greatest B&B in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Aiden's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Aiden's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 5 Rathgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wals, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The absolute greatest B&B in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

St. Aiden's is the best B&B in Dublin i visited! And since years I've been searching in Dublin for a good one. Marie and Kevin's B&B is a very nice and clean one. The busstation in and from citycenter is not far from the house. Marie and Kevin are looking very well after you and give you also a good advise where to go and what's best to do in Dublin. They are very welcoming and you feel at home at the very first Minute you step into the house. You can deside in the morning what kind of breakfast you want. The prices are also very good and fair! You can't get a better one!

Room Tip: Choose which one you like! Although it's in the City the rooms are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
21
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday of Bon Jovi concert, can't fault the room or service, but it was a bit overpriced for 1 nite @ €88.
No wonder people don't come to stay in Ireland when they are being made to pay extortionate prices just because of an event being on. What makes it any different to a normal weekday?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here while also attending the local synagogue. We greatly appreciated the kosher food provided for breakfast and the snack biscuits on Saturday evening with our bottle of wine we had purchased at the local Super valu market! The room was small but had a large bed and good size bathroom and shower. Very friendly hostess and host.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and had a good experience. Room was basic with private bathroom. Irish breakfast was the best part with other options as well. It is not in a walking distance to downtown area but good bus connections. Hostess was very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were up for the Heineken and Amlin Cup finals and spent two nights in this accommodation. The location was good for us as we picked up the No 18 bus ( a fifteen minute walk to Rathmines) to bring us to Ballsbridge. We even walked back from Ballsbridge on Saturday night as it was a lovely night. There is a very regular bus service (five minute walk, 15/ 15A/ 65 etc) which brings you into the city centre.
We were made to feel very welcome by Marie on our arrival and our room was exactly what we asked for. We did not need any additional bed linen or pillows as there was ample on the beds. We were also able to leave a window open which kept the room at a good temperature for us. An electric heater was available if we had wanted to use it.
What I really enjoyed about my stay was the breakfast. On Saturday morning I had the full Irish and there was a wonderful variety on my plate - rashers, sausage, two eggs, mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, hash browns, bap and toast. This was complemented by a good assortment of cereals, juices, fruits, yoghurts, cold meats and other breads. There was a toaster if you wanted to toast these latter.
On Sunday morning, I had the hot banana pancakes and these were very tasty. I did not want to feel as full as I had on Saturday and my buddy in similar mode, asked for, and received, rashers and toast.
We left the premises feeling well satisfied and I would happily stay at St Aiden's again in the future as it is in a lovely mature part of Dublin with good access to city centre and the southside in general.

Room Tip: We had No 9 which appeared to be a room at the back of the house and was not bordered by any other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FearMumhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We chose this guesthouse for its location close to the jewish synagogues and it's a short drive from SuperValu supermarket in Braemor road having a choise of kosher food.
Our hosts Kevin and Marie took special care of us and helped us with Shabath and meals arrangements.
The guesthouse is in a quiet and safe residential area. The short coming is that street parking is allowed only to locals. However you can park free in one of nearby very narrow alleys.
The breakfast is served in a bright and airy room. Again the hosts suprised us and suggested papaer plates and food to fit our demands.
All in al we has a lovely long weekend there and getting to and from the ring motorway is quick and easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zime15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathgar
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Rathfarnham
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Abrae Court Guesthouse
#103 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Aiden's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Aiden's Guesthouse

Property: St. Aiden's Guesthouse
Address: 32 Brighton Road, Rathgar D6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathgar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rathgar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Aiden's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse for comfortable and budget stays. All rooms en-suite. Fantastic range of breakfast options (or none as preferred). Adjacent to numerous restaurants and pubs. Convenient to City and Temple Bar. Direct bus (16A) from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Aiden's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Aiden's Guesthouse Rathgar, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing