We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and accessible Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardagh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardagh House
Ranked #1 of 5 Rathgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable and accessible Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

So convenient to city centre, elegantly comfortable, immaculate, delicious breakfast. Since all rooms have ensuite bathrooms, very private and quiet. Views of courtyard or lovely garden. An easy direct bus ride of 20 minutes to city centre.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Ed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    50
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
43
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

. My husband and I spent a week in Dublin and found Ardaph House a very comfortable and convenient place to stay. Breakfast’s excellent, comfortable bed and great bathtub, and a block away from a bus to the center of town. Mary and Willie are perfect hosts, providing information and help as needed.We also appreciated their willingness to accommodate our dietary needs. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABELouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Not initially our first choice of accommodation, but after this stay in will be from now.

Room was spotless and had everything we need. The owner/manager were family and even offered to cook us breakfast after we the kitchen had closed!!

Will not hesitate to stay here again, it is perfect for a stay in Dublin for a reasonable price and in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanNiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference in centre of Dublin, and would stay here again. Ardagh House is a former 'gentleman's residence' nicely restored but retaining its character. Secure off road parking. I had a very nice room on the top floor. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Spotlessly clean. Quiet. Friendly welcome from the owners, Mary (who supervises the excellent breakfast in a lovely big room overlooking the garden, and Willie).
I initially thought the location was a bit far out of the city, but I found this wasn't a problem at all. There is an excellent bus service which actually starts and finishes just across the road. The bus route goes through some very interesting parts of Dublin, both old and new, and I enjoyed the trip each day. This is very pleasant residential area, with nice park nearby, and a handy shops a few minutes walk away. I would certainly stay here again in preference to central Dublin.

Room Tip: Bear in mind there is no lift to the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morningtide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This B&B was spotless, very comfortable and nicely maintained. The staff was very helpful! It's not so close to the city centre but we enjoyed staying in a quieter area (it's a really nice part of town), and there is a bus and a tram that are quite quick to the centre. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SN9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night. My room was small, but I was on my own, so this wasn't a problem. It was a double bed, and if I had to share, then the room would have been uncomfortable. It is in a nice, clean, safe suburb of Dublin. Easy bus journey to the centre. The welcome was warm and people seemed very nice. For a single stay, I felt it was a little over priced. My neighbours were very noisy and inconsiderate, that is not a reflection on the b&b, I was just unlucky. Breakfast was nice enough, although the bowl of apples looked a little tired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A big thank you to Willie and Mary for taking such good care of us. The house is impeccable, the rooms are spotless and the beds are extra comfortable. Both of them went out of their view to accomodate our school group and were helpful when we had a problem with food allergies, offering alternatives. They are friendly and have years of experience in the field. It´s not surprising that people keep going back. Rathgar has quality restaurants and for us being in the city centre does not compare. Public transport is great so we much prefer the “real Irish hospitality “ at Ardagh house to a more central venue. Looking forward to returning next year. Free wifi in all the rooms makes staying in touch with the families stress free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stigsbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathgar
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh House

Property: Ardagh House
Address: 1 Highfield Road, Rathgar Dublin 6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathgar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rathgar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ardagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh House Rathgar, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing