We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food - great prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here a couple of years ago - and recently visited for Sunday lunch. The food, staff and ambiance was absolutely outstanding. Our waitress, Siobhan Nangle, was incredibly helpful - the chef as well! The value for the meal isn't to be beat - really good food, selection and service! This is going to be my regular stop for food!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Elizabeth
Thank you for your kind review and comments. Our Sunday Carvery service is winning great reviews and comments for both value for money and quality of food. we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Myself and my family were up for a weeks break in the area and ate here on two occasions. One of my daughters (aged 10) wanted a burger (which are unbelievable) and my father said he wasn't that hungry and that he would share one with her. The waitress informed us that they would do a half burger if she wanted. Forget the kids menu, nearly everything on the adult menu was available in half portions. How family friendly is that!!!!!!! The staff go out of their way for you, the food is excellent and the setting is perfect. You can sit outside beside the marina and watch the boats pass by. I would recommend anyone to go out of there way to check this place out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Martin
Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad we could make your visit to Leitrim all the more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel had been reccomended to us by a lock-keeper after a paticuarly wet day on the Shannon-Erne waterway. Drenched, we moored in the free visitor's mooring berth for an overnight stay.
We had a few drinks that night, breakfast the next morning and lunch about a week later, on our journey back to the boat hire company (Aghinver). Every time we recieved great service, good food and also affordable prices.
There was a lovely sunset when we were moored there too!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Tomos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Tomos
Thank you for writing this wonderful review. It is an inspiration to us here to receive such positive feedback from a 'seasoned' Tripadvisor reviewer like you. We really enjoyed your company here in the hotel on both visits and we are glad we could help make your visit to Ireland all the more enjoyable, particularly on a wet day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A fantastic, well run local hotel which I have become a (very) regular customer of! Myself and my family have eaten here on a regular basis since it re-opened a few months ago. I have complimented them in person each time I eat there so finally am getting round to writing a review!Most recently, myself, husband and three kids had lunch here on Saturday. we were looked after very well by all staff. There is an extensive menu with something for everyone, along with a separate children's menu. We both had the steak sandwich, which was delicious and cooked perfectly. My daughter had lovely chicken nuggets and chips, and both my younger children had baby bowls which were complimentary! They also had lollipops for the kids afterwards!!There was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel on the bank holiday Saturday.
We were there Sunday night with friends and there was a fantastic band playing, everyone was up dancing and enjoying themselves!
To finish off the bank holiday weekend we had breakfast in the hotel on Monday morning. We both agreed that it was the nicest breakfast we've had in a hotel! The breakfast is served, which is something I love, and see so rarely in a hotel now. The breakfast was beautifully presented and there was not a drop of grease on the plate. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious. There was also a lovely home made bread served with the toast which was delicious.
The hotel is a fantastic asset to the village. It is spotless and very well maintained. Robbie, Caroline and staff work very hard and are have a very friendly welcome for everyone! The hotel itself is located in a marina complex of apartments overlooking the canal, and there is a lovely terrace off the bar to sit out,have a drink/bite to eat and relax and enjoy the passing boat traffic on a sunny summer's day, which we have done many times during this summer!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walsh0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Walsh0807
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. These reviews are very helpful in developing the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again here at The Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We had our dinner in the hotel on Sunday evening. The hotel was busy and there was a nice ambience about the place. We were very pleased with the service and friendliness of the staff. The food we received was well presented and tasty. I had seafood chowder which I was pleasantly surprised with as there was so much fish in the bowl. For main course I had the Salmon stir fry and it was delicious. My wife had roast beef and my son had Sausages and chips which they both enjoyed. My wife and son had desserts, a strawberry roulade and a pavlova, both were presented well and tasted great. We have eaten here several times since the hotel reopened and the menu has improved and the service has also improved. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Paul C

Thank you for your kind and detailed review and for your return visit to the hotel. We work hard to continually identify and improve areas that need attention and I would agree that we have improved greatly in both food quality, presentation and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just got back from this hotel after a two night break. I found all the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. The hotel was spotless clean and well presented. We had a room with a view of the marina which was very quiet at night so we got a good nights sleep.
The food was excellent and if you are there on a Friday night take advantage of the special offer of steak night. The sirloin was cooked to perfection and we enjoyed it immensely.
If we are ever in this area again we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlovva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Sunlowa
Thank you for your excellent review. It is good to hear honest feedback from a 'seasoned' reviewer like you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Even upon arrival we were disappointed to be driving in to a housing estate! On entering the small reception, there was no one at reception on a busy Sunday but instead a note to redirect you to the hotel bar for service checking in. I stood at the bar for a long while before the manager then came over to ask if I was ok. Having then checked me in, we went up to our "€95 per night mid-week" rated room and were very disappointed! There was an unpleasant smell in the hotel and the halls; the walls were scraped and marked throughout the halls as well as the bedroom, the carpet in the bedroom was dated and old, and needed changed. We spoke to the friendly receptionist Colette, explained our disappointment, and we felt we had no option but to cancel our €190 two night mid week stay. Colette consulted with the manager and they refused to allow us cancel without forfeiting €95 cancellation fee. This was hugely disappointing and especially having went on to get a rate of €69 for a room in the 4 star Radisson hotel in Athlone on the same night!! Doesn't add up at all! Would really not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Shanogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim_Marina_Hotel, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We have requested Tripadvisor to remove this review as it is inaccurate. These guests choose to cancel a visit within 24 hours of arrival and our policy clearly states that in these cases the cost of the full booking is payable. We have specifically reserved a 'marina view room' for this guest on a very busy weekend and were unable to resell it at this short notice. As a gesture of goodwill the management chose to waive the collection of the 2nd nights accommodation and this has been completely ignored in this review. The reviewer is vindictive in a number of points. The hotel images and description available on Tripadvisor, on our website and on booking agents are clear and accurate. The hotel is located on its own private grounds along the banks of the River Shannon - not in a housing estate. The reception contains a number of settee's, chairs, side tables, lift access and guest information bureau along with a spacious reception desk. Reception is attended at all times during check in and check out hours. The hotel only opened in April of this year after a full repainting and redecoration and is bright and airy with full glass curtain wall. The carpets are new and rooms tastefully decorated. The reviewer stated that if she didn't receive a refund she would post a 'nasty review' and this is the basis of the review posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leitrim
3.3 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
894 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#14 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
74 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leitrim Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leitrim Marina Hotel

Address: Leitrim Village | Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon > Leitrim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leitrim Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting along the banks of the Shannon-Erne Waterway, the Leitrim Marina Hotel is a peaceful haven, less than two hours from Dublin. With a large outdoor deck leading onto the Marina, and fully glass fronted bar and restaurant to make the most of the commanding views, this is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy great locally inspired cuisine, good Bewley's Tea & Coffee or even a cocktail between exploring the local attractions such as Arigna Mining Experience or Lough Key Forest Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leitrim Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing