We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augill House

Augill House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Augill House
Ranked #5 of 7 Gort B&B and Inns
Thessaloniki
1 review
“Excellent Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

The best Guesthouse we stayed in Ireland.
The site doesn't shows the real image and sense of the house.
We stayed there only 2 nights in August passing through West Ireland.
The whole place was fine and clean.
Rooms were very spacious and comfortable and furniture matched nicely
with the pieceful surroundings of the house.
Beds were soft and cosy and breakfast was of excellent quality.
Mark and Tricia were friendly enough and very polite.
Thanks for everything again, we loved the penguins...

  • Liked — Quiet and comfort
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSalonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

I used Augill House as a base for myself whilst working in the west of Ireland.The house is a new build and the rooms are beautiful, all with en suite facilities. After a week using other guest houses it was the only place I got a much appreciated full nights sleep and a tasty breakfast the following morning.
Above all the owners, Mark and Tricia, are perfect hosts and really friendly people.You'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

Augill House has an atmosphere of tranquility and elegance that is encouraged by the wonderful couple who run this fine establishment. I would recommend anyone who wanted to find somewhere to have some 'r and r' to take a trip into south Galway and stay with Mark and Tricia. The website ((--)) doesn't do justice to the quality of the service, or the gentle ambience we found there, but it gives an impression of what to expect at Augill House and in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

We were very impressed with this guest house. Our room was large and comfortable, there is a sitting room for guests, and the breakfasts are excellent. It is worth staying at least 2 nights and exploring the area. Coole Park is magnificent and the coastal area wild and beautiful. Our hosts had lots of information about places to visit and local golf courses. They were very friendly but not intrusive- we'll definitely be going back. Perhaps not the cheapest B&B you could find, but it is excellent value for money and more comfortable than most hotels. I liked the home-baked biscuits in the room!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

We have just returned from a short break in Ireland. This place was amazing. We were looking for a place central to the area beloved by W. B. Yeats and near to Galway.
We were delighted by the very warm welcome, excellent food and the sheer comfort of the house.
No effort is spared. Top-rate Irish breakfast with all those extra treats (freshly squeezed orange juice, Irish white pudding and first-rate bacon and sausage)
Warmth and relaxation in the beautiful lounge and dining area coupled with the comfort of an extremely well appointed bed room with king- size bed and luxorious en-suite. Beautiful furnishings throughout the house
All those extras were greatly appreciated! T.V. video, hairdryer, a great selection of books and films as well as generous provision for tea and coffee en suite. We shall certainly be recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2005

When serching for Bed & Breakfast in Co Galway on the internet we located and booked Augill House for a 3 night stay.What a find ! It is a brand new house in a lovely rural location,the en-suite bedrooms are large,the breakfasts were beautiful and the hosts could not of been more welcoming.
We used it as a base to tour Co Galway for which it is idealy situated.
Quite simply it is one of the finest Guest houses we have stayed at.

Helpful?
2 Thank Citybreaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gort hotels
4.1 mi away
Lady Gregory Hotel
5.5 mi away
Naomh Colman Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Woodley B and B
Woodley B and B
#4 of 7 in Gort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Woodlands Bed & Breakfast
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 3 in Gort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augill House

Property: Augill House
Address: Dromore Hill | South Galway, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing