We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL RELAXING HOTEL”
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL RELAXING HOTEL”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I stayed in hotel for 3 nights and I was very impressed with the whole experience. I had worked in the hotel industry for 12 years so was very happy to find such wonderful staff, excellent food and a smoking room. They have a heated pool, sauna, exercise room, etc.
Room was lovely and warm and bathroom had heater for towels. Will stay there again when i am in gort area.
Thanks to all of you that made it so enjoyable.
Doreen Werner

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenw39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    147
    51
    19
    14
See reviews for
139
165
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sligo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Reception staff very welcoming, friendly, and arranged accommodation for my 2 puppies off site and obliged by bringing them back to me at 10.00 am in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

the hotel looks fine downstairs but the accomodation is very disapointing. stayed 5 nights , the tv channels are so basic...small selection of irish channels and sky news.....no uk channels even though room says they have. asked if broken...yes getting engineer to look at it...5 days later sky news is still on as i want uk tv and an honest answer.

the food at jb yeates is fantastic.....big portions and great service

shame its let down by the hotel staff on reception.

its like 2 worlds seperated by a door

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank seasideruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed in the Lady Gregory with our 3 young kids for three nights. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with what we got - but then again, we didn't expect the earth, as this was very clearly a three star hotel with no pretensions to be anything else! The room was fine, large enough to accommodate us all, but one shouldn't look too close into corners etc (I found that overall in the hotel cleanliness could be improved). Service was quite mixed, from some really lovely staff who were super-friendly to the kids to downright incapable (we got charged our dinner three times in the restaurant). The leisure complex is ahead of most other 3 star hotels, with a pretty good gym, decent sized pool, small paddling pool, jaccuzi, sauna, two steam rooms, and even 5 family changing rooms with showers (which again could have done with a closer clean, but at least they existed!). There was a wedding on in the hotel on the Sat night, which we heard nothing of - apart from a (thankfully shortlived) rendition of the "Rose of Tralee" at 3am in the hotel corridor. Gort itself can be given a miss in favour of some of the towns closer to the coast. Overall - we didn't regret coming here, but I am not certain we'd be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuffleIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I was in the Lady Gregory for a wedding in October 2009 and without doubt it was the best wedding I was ever at. The front reception room although a liitle small for all the guests (but it was a large wedding) was well decorated and the staff were extra friendly. Once we got to the function room for the meal I was amazed at how helpful and professional all the staff were. The food was beautiful every course was well presented and tasted gorgeous, everyone from vegetarians to true carnivores thought the same!!!!!! The service was very friendly and very efficient. The same applies for both the appatisers when we arrived and the fingerfood that night. The rooms were a little dated but very big and very comfortable there is nothing I can complain about I would recommend this hotel and all the staff without any reservations for any wedding:-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed for one night when passing through Gort. Lovely hotel. Room large and clean and very warm (A little too warm for me). Food was lovely in the hotel also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joejoeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natasha1980
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Beautiful charming hotel located in Gort. Wedding was amazing on the whole- a perfect venue and staff was very accomodating. They decorated the ballroom so beautifully and it was overall very well done. My only complaint is that the rooms need some updating. Since we were there for a wedding, most of us had planned to iron some of our clothes for the wedding, however the iron was probably from 1970 and didn't work at all. The rooms had old carpeting and looked a little shabby but was nice and large. Overall, a great wedding but some effort could be put into the guest rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
17.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
403 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
807 reviews
7.5 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,536 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
751 reviews
15.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Property: Lady Gregory Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing