We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Hospitality at its best!”
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish Hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Gort is 35 minutes from Shannon Airport by car and surrounded by total beauty as far as the eye can see.
When we arrived at the Lady Gregory Hotel we were welcomed by extremely friendly and efficient staff in all areas within the hotel.

Gort is within a short driving distance of the beautiful Counties of Clare, Mayo and of course Galway, there is so much to see and enjoy. Be sure to have your camara with you to capture the scenic routes you may view and wish to share with others who may visit at another date.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we welcome you back to The Lady Gregory Hotel in the future for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    152
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
142
170
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was at a wedding here recently the function room looked ok,for starter I had the fish cakes which were so cold when served,for main course i had pastry wrapped in salmon which wasnt too warm with mixed veg lucky i didnt break a tooth trying to eat the veg it was so hard,also the beef was so over done it was burnt,for dessert I had porfiteroles with ice-cream the ice cream was pure 'ICE',i was asked by a young waiter if i would like tea or coffee i had said coffee please a tiny drop of coffee was poured into cup so he said he would get another pot of coffee when he came back i wasnt watching what he was doing so i went to drink my coffee it was half tea and half coffee in the cup,waitress and waiters were all over the place hadnt a clue you would know that they have never been trained that's the hotels fault not their fault,the bar in the function room were charging extra for drinks so most of the wedding party went out to hotel bar to buy drinks,I mentioned this to the wedding co-ordinator about the whole day and she just looked at me and walked away very rude and ignorant person she was,she was dress code didnt make an impression for a co-ordinator.I would never go to another wedding here or have my wedding here an absolute disgrace it was.This hotel is very badly run.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaffa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USIT21, General Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear jaffa3,
Thank you for editing your previous posting!
We take all comments seriously, however we would like to point out the following:

Our Lady Gregory Banqueting Suite is not just ok, it is fabulous. The banqueting suite continually takes wedding and function guests breath away. The wow factor is credible. Sorry that it was not to your taste on this occasion.

Due to our quality assurance checks all functions meals do not leave the kitchen unless checked by our awarding winning Head Chef and General Manager. This is a responsibility we take very seriously and a promise we guarantee our bride and grooms; over 800 happy wedding couples since 1998, approximately 200,000 wedding guests alone. The reason for this is that John, Kate and I personally supervise every wedding and ensure all guests’ needs are met and should any issue arise we rectify immediately. I do wish you would consider us again for your wedding reception and call us to discuss your wedding plans on 091-632333. We will endeavour to meet your every need.
Our HACCP control process ensures that all starters are served in excess of a temperature of 70 degrees. The same applies to our main courses. Our vegetables are cooked al dente which are firm to the bite. If requested we can cook for longer, but that takes all the goodness of Mother Nature from our fresh market supply. Our Grade A Beef, a prime cut of meat, we certainly would not burn it. We cook our beef medium to well but sometimes receive requests for well done. We are always happy to oblige. It is our ethos.
Sincere apologies on the tea and coffee mix up! The hotel team are forever obliging and would have gracefully rectified the issue if it were brought to their attention at the time.
Our team are well drilled on the workings of a function service. Even to the point that we have thirty minutes assigned to pre wedding meetings to discuss all matters relating to the function in question ranging from such items as dietary needs, menu options, style of service and allocations. I make no apology, as you put it, of the staff appearing to be all over the place. I am delighted they were busy attending to the guests needs. We have a ratio of 1:10 for our wedding staff allocation to ensure sufficient service is given to our very important customers, whom we value greatly.
It is not abnormal for a function bar to charge a little extra over the main bar. Bar exemptions are an extra cost and being a diligent business we always work within the law and ensure all our wedding couples have bar exemptions.
I am disappointed that you described one of our team as rude, ignorant and shabby. This is quiet to the contrary and such a personal attack holds no credit. Our team are very thoughtful, caring and attentive. It is in embedded in our organisational culture as previous postings account for.

Thank you for your comments and we welcome you back to the hotel in the future be it as an attendee or for your own wedding.
Kind Regards
Brian Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 nights for a wedding. The room we had on the second floor was in the old part of the hotel. It was very spacious, nice bathroom and room was lovely and clean.
Is a lovely old hotel with lots of character. Staff in hotel and pub very polite and helpful - would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the pool as they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdgwareSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and we welcome you back to The Lady Gregory Hotel in the future for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is our 4th stay in The Lady Gregory, and each time we enjoy it more, the staff are happy and friendly, the bedrooms are clean and spacious, the indoor pool and jacuzzi, is always what you need on any trip especially if you have children. And the Irish breakfast is amazing. The evening bar food is reasonable and very tasty, and the bar entertains you with some great singers, what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: We had a suite, it's worth that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We attended a wedding and the sit down meal was held here. As we had travelled from England we booked in for 2 nights. The tables for the meal looked great and the food was excellent. We couldn't find fault with any of the staff, they were all so helpful and friendly. My wife and I are quite a picky pair in what we like or dislike, for instance she likes her scrambled egg cooked just so and I like my bacon almost cooked to a crisp. Any request we made was dealt with faultlessly.
Some parts of the hotel did look just a little bit shabby, particularly the wood, most at the wedding though loved the ceiling in the function room. Bedrooms were pretty well equipped with comfy beds and a shower to die for. Didn't use the TV so no comment there. One thing though bugs me, it's the lack of a laptop safe, most hotels of high standard that we've stayed in do supply this in the rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay so mostly high marks, just a few very small negatives

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arrived with a reservation requesting a twin room. Received a double. Front desk fixed the mistake immediately. Ate a good dinner in their pub,and had a full Irish Breakfast in the morning. The rooms could use updating - the TV looked like it was from the 90's. Also, we were never able to get a really good WiFi signal, so used the bar's WiFi instead.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Bette P
Thank you for your review , we appreciate all feedback from our guests.
We thank you for your positive comments regarding your dining experience with us here at the hotel.

With regards the issue with the WIFI, we did have a problem with one of our routers affecting a row of rooms, and we have rectified this issue since.

Once again we would like to thank you kindly for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were driving through Ireland and had no idea of our destination. We stopped at the front of this hotel and walked in to ask the price.usually I pre book on the Internet but there was no time as we had no idea where we would be. The receptionist was very nice, very helpful and offered us a comparable price to the Internet. The attraction was the name.....The Lady Gregory! In Yeats country! The room was large, clean and comfortable. A little in need of an update but I am thinking it was in keeping with the style and prestige of the era and history so there was no problem. Breakfast was excellent and the Dining room was amazing. Very old English ! I loved the atmosphere it evoked. It was right on the ocean a fair way out of town but with a car it was a perfect place to stay. They're was a spa resort as a section of the hotel , I did not use it but it looked wonderful.

Room Tip: Have a room on the second floor as the view over the ocean was stunning. We had a huge thunder storm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at The Lady Gregory Hotel staff, food, service and amenities. We strive to always provide the very best for our customers .
Being located in the rich heritage of Lady Augusta Gregory, W.B. Yeats and all that the Burren Lowlands has to offer, the attraction of The Lady Gregory Hotel will always endeavour to evoke an era of elegance and history.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we welcome you back to The Lady Gregory Hotel in the future for another memorable stay.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
17.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
422 reviews
7.5 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
201 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,076 reviews
15.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
17.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Property: Lady Gregory Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing