We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
wicklow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed here for the 3rd time and everytime I have gone I have not been disappointed. It is a lovely hotel and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy and are of a good size. I have had both breakfasts and dinners at the hotel and have enjoyed each of them. Our last visit was to attend a friends wedding. We rang ahead and asked if we could check in early (11:30) and were told that this would not be a problem. This was hugely helpful as the wedding was at half one and we both needed showers after a long drive on a warm day. My one and only complaint would be the shower in our room. We were put into room 139. This a wheelchair friendly room, which was not a problem, but the shower in it was terrible. Absolutely no power in the water. Due to time not being on our side, I didn't get to ask to be put in a different room with a decent a shower, but If had have, I would have done. But overall I enjoyed my time there and will be back again in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid room 139 if you require a decent shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    145
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
134
159
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is clean with very friendly staff. The decor is a bit dated. Tv in room was ancient and wi-fi did not work despite several requests to have it sorted.The bar food was good and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DondoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Lady Gregory end of Easter Bank Holiday on a 2 day family package.
We asked for and got interconnecting rooms which allowed our 2 kids enough of independence to keep themselves happy.
Rooms were clean and tidy and hotel staff friendly and very obliging to assist us.
Leisure facilities were a great bonus to attempt to work off food and guinness and also allowed kids to meet up with our local friends in the swimming pool.

Had breakfast with the package which was excellent. Also ate in the bar as a family which was good value and served by attentative staff.

Can't fault our two day stay-and the sun was even shining!!

Room Tip: Don't be shy to ask for interconnecting room on family packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catseyestomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I would like to thank the staff at the lady gregory for a very enjoible stay especally Sheila
she is a wonderfull person and very professional at her job she was extreamly helpful we have
never experienced such hospitality in any hotel we have stayed in it was like being at home nothing was a problem .
Excellent food and service very clean and comfortable rooms and beds .
I would recomend the LADY GREGORY to friends and family and i would certainly return.
Thank you for a great experience
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
Dawn ,Martin,Jamie,Shane,Pauline.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504dawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arive at the Lady Gregory Hotel on a cold Easter Saturday, the fire in the loby as we open the door brough a lovey warm felling to me. We have a very friendly wellcome from the staff at the reception. Our room was on the second floor and we found the room and the hotel to be very warm which was great as the weather was very clod. The entertament was very good over the Easter weekend dancing every night on on select days in the afternoom. We took a walk down to the town and found the people to be very friendly to visitors. The area is very good for days out we were in Galway and went to coole park on our way back, it is well worth a visite lovely walks and tea rooms. We are returning to the hotel at the end of May for a wedding and i am looking foward to our stay already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvisgladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The front staff were friendly and helpful. The adjoining pub had fantastic food and the wait staff, Sheila, was personable and pleasant. SHe gave us all kinds of tips as to where to go, how to ask for things and where to visit. She is a wonderful person. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had an adjoining room and we could hear our neighbors clearly which wasn't so great but overall a wonderful stay. Would definantly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't take the connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We picked up a bargain deal from Pigsback for this Hotel. The hotel is located on the fringe of Gort Town, 5/10 minute walk. Idealy located as a base to tour North Clare, the Burrin or to drop into Galway.
Reception greated us in a professional & courteous manner, top marks, We located our room on the 2nd floor. Well appointed room, super large bed, wi-fi, tv etc. once again top class. Our friends stayed in a room further down the hall & they had the luxury of a walk in shower in addition to the bath. We felt a little jealous not having this luxury. Rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable.
The gym was well kitted out though I only needed the threadmill, no point in killing myself on a weekend away & the swimming pool was well maintained & of a good size.

All in all, this hotel was comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the dining room and this is were we found organisation a little lacking. Firstly, tables are set up but with no meet & greet. Tables are acquired on a first come first served basis resulting, on occassion, in a mishmash of confusion for the guests. Staff were lovely but on our first morning, the service was oh so slow. It was very busy & on stating such to one of the staff she replied that it was so busy the chef was having a melt down in the kitchen. This brought a wry smile to my face but if such was the case it could not have been good for the staff as they tried to serve the guests. Having placed our breakfast order, the toast arrived promptly as did the tea but the breakfast didn't arrive for a full 20 minutes after which resulted in a fresh toast & tea order. But we were in no hurry, we were just chilling out & the service did not upset us but it needed to be improved on. On the second morning, we ate a little earlier & the service was great. The food was the usual fry-up but lacked the frills, such as mushrooms, that we are accustomed to but as stated earlier, we got a super deal & we certainly were not starved. Again I state, the staff were sound at all times in all areas. We had our evening meals off the bar menu. Super food, super service & well presented.

Entertainment: none on Friday night but we had the company of M & M on Saturday night singing Country & Irish plus ballads & a little gentle rock and roll plus the added talents of the locals thrown in for good measure. A good night had by all. The Guinness was good but no better than that. Don't know the reason for that perhaps there was not a good flow on the taps that night.

My better half said on the way home, that whilst it was not the snazziest hotel we have ever stayed in, she felt so at home in the place and enjoyed it quite a lot. So my friends, the wife has spoken & we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a quite break, or a family break as the hotel catered for the kids also. The only negative being the organisation at the breakfast room, but hey, your on a break so don't sweat it, particularly if you get a good deal like we did. Will stay here again.

A quick few words on Gort. A large enough market town but you can see the effects the recession is having on this and many other towns in rural Ireland with closed up buildings etc. Nice to see the Lady Gregory doing deals to get visitors into the area and spending a little if not a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
On behalf of the management team and staff may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in the Lady Gregory hotel. We are delighted that your overall visit was a positive one. I have shared your remarks regarding breakfast with both our breakfast team and head chef. All of these comments will be taken on board. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lady Gregory Hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
17.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
7.5 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
15.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
17.1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Property: Lady Gregory Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing