We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business is a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Business is a pleasure”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are a mature couple and travelled to Gort to join with friends on a social dance weekend. The first room offered by the Lady Gregory Hotel smelled badly of cigarette smoke (Obviously some very selfish and ignorant people around) Reception immediately moved us to a different room. The rooms are all bright, comfortable and clean. There are even reading lights beside the bed - congratulations Brian! Dinner on Saturday evening was excellent. Breakfast on Sunday morning was acceptable. Bar lunch was very good. The Leisure Centre is very good and we made much use of it. All staff are friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable stay and hope to repeat the experience later in the year.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the top floor at the rear - probably a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    145
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
134
159
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet. A recent stay in this hotel will definately be repeated. It is the jewel in the crown of this area without any doubt. The staff are amazing with no exceptions. From Linda at reception, Shiela in the restaurant and Louise and Selena in the spa, they shone for all to see. Congrats to the management, what a wonderful team. We will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are as good as the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Friday for a 2 day stay, hotel is clean and rooms are decent comfy enough.
Late in Friday we had the bad luck to have some noisy neighbors... Banging doors obviously paartying so we couldn't sleep! We called reception and the manager dealt with the noisy guests+ they changed us room to ensure our sleep wouldn't be disturbed :-) .
The restaurant staff very accommodating to our special diet ( soy milk etc..)
The gym & pool are nice overall a great experience everyone very friendly !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ximie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stopped her for a night during our pilgrimage of Ireland.
We were 2 couples in our 50's.
The desk staff were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions.
The rooms were spacious, clean and decorated nicely.
We all would definitely stay here again when we return to the beautiful land of Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lafawnduh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Booked a weekend break, hotel was easily found (signposted). Very welcoming fireplace in hallway, receptionist friendly.

Bedroom was tidy and spacious we had a twin with double & single bed.

We enjoyed a fabulous meal in restaurant, was delicious Garlic Mushrooms were served on crunchy bed of salad. Chicken dish was gorgeous, wrapped in ham with mash potato & veg. Lemon Meringue was fluffy and light.

Staff were friendly but NOT invading. There was a great selection at Breakfast. The Scone were devine.

Definiately recommend hotel for a break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just home after 2 nights in this lovely hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. With 2 kids in tow, we felt welcome and that the kids were not a problem, they were valued guests. The food is great and good value, just an all round good experiance and we will definatly stay there again. On both nights there was music in the bar, a wedding and a country gig and we still slept soundly no noise pollution in the rooms!

Room Tip: 218 is a big family room, one double and two singles. no noise from the bar or function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 116CMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked room only for an overnight stay at this hotel but were so impressed by the courtesy of the staff and the quality of the room we decided to book breakfast. Really pleased we did, there was a good choice and the young lady serving was so obliging despite the fact there were quite a few customers there and she was the only one serving. We would definately choose to stay there aagain and, hopefully, not be too travel weary to use the liesure centre next time.

Room Tip: Despite being just off the main road we didn't find an issue with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kath4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
17.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
350 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
783 reviews
7.5 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
16.7 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,475 reviews
15.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Property: Lady Gregory Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing