We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Kilmacduagh Tower

Kilmacduagh Tower
Reviewed April 12, 2017

I must say I found it accedentaly while driving from Gort to Burren directon.
I stopped in this non-touristic spot.

Its well prepare for visitors - there is a parking next by and information board about the monastery.

It very secluded and quiet - thats the best about it. The only company you have is the company of the cows around ;-)

The Tower is in very good condition, one of the best in Ireland. The church is small and you cant get in, same as the other monastery buildings. But it is still worth to stop.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank karo_m83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"church ruins"
in 3 reviews
"amazing site"
in 2 reviews
"burren area"
in 2 reviews
"county galway"
in 3 reviews
"entire site"
in 2 reviews
"monastic settlement"
in 4 reviews
"wander around"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 2 reviews
"century"
in 10 reviews
"cows"
in 7 reviews
"attack"
in 3 reviews
"clonmacnoise"
in 3 reviews
"corofin"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 23 reviews
"booklet"
in 3 reviews
"ireland"
in 19 reviews
"stone"
in 6 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2017

Neat spot. We were driving to the Father Ted House, turned a corner & saw the tower in the distance. It has a small parking area & the are is accessible via some gates & some walls with built-in steps.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

Amazing place.The high crosses, round tower, the old church and many lovely old crosses. Love it here, so serene and historic.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

We saw this in the distance and when the turn came up for it we took it. There is a car park. It is really atmospheric and you can see the monks going about their business. And the tower is great.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Went out of our way to visit, but for a purpose. We wanted to go here to take video and drone pictures. The place is spread across several sites, with a tower structure, that can be seen from the road as you approach. Car park is just past the graveyard. There is not much to look at, unless you look at the details and read the information.. For me, or anyone into photography, it is a great place to visit

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmacduagh Tower also viewed

 
Kilcolgan, County Galway
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Kilmacduagh Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing