We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home, Lovely Hosts - We Loved Our Stay at Craig Country House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loughrea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craig Country House
Ranked #2 of 8 Loughrea B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My husband and I and some friends stayed 8 nights at Craig Country House (CCH) on a recent fox hunting trip to Ireland. I booked CCH for our group after reading guest reviews and am delighted to report that our stay couldn’t have been better.

Mairead and her husband Tom, owners of CCH, are wonderfully warm and friendly, which makes them perfects hosts for a stay in the Irish countryside. They also know a lot about the area and have good advice about what to see and where to eat.

We arrived about 10 AM and were happily greeted in the driveway by 4 adorable Jack Russell Terriers. Next we were warmly welcomed inside by Kitty, Mairead’s mother, and Angela, Tom’s aunt and invited to the kitchen for tea, toast and Irish Brown bread. This warm welcome was a great start to our Irish hunting holiday.

We loved the home and beautiful country setting! It is just a few years old but is very warm and welcoming, with tasteful decoration and spacious rooms. Looking out our bedroom window we could see horses grazing and the morning sunrise. The roomy bedroom, en suite bathroom (lots of hot water) and comfy bed were perfect for resting our weary bones at the end of every busy day.

Every morning Tom or Mairead produced a generous, sumptuous breakfast which kept us going until dinner time. You won't leave hungry! There was something for everyone; juice, coffee, milk, tea, yogurt, fresh cut fruit, cereals homemade breads (Irish Brown Bread, Scones, Croissants) Toast, Oatmeal, pancakes, Eggs, sausages, and rasher bacon. That bacon was so delicious – nothing like we can get in the US. We also had 3 dinners at Craig House and all the food was delicious. I came home a few pounds heavier…a testament to all of the good food at Craig House.

From Craig House, one can visit the Cliffs of Moher, Galway City, the Burren, Athenrye, Bunratty, Connemara, Ashford Castle, Kylemore Abbey, Roscommon, and MUCH, MUCH more. It's an easy one hour drive to/from Shannon. It was wonderful to stay in one place and not pack/unpack daily plus we truly looked forward to coming home each night and having a few words with Tom, Mairead, Kitty and Angela about the days activities. Most of the time we spent fox hunting and we had a lot of stories to share with the family. Tom is a huntsman and we were able to ride with him for two hunts. We would have loved to have been able to ride with him more but we had plans to also visit other hunts in the area.

The closet village, Craughwell, has 3 pubs where you can unwind with drinks and dinner and is a quick couple of miles from CCH.

If you are planning a trip to Ireland, we highly recommend Craig House. You’ll arrive as strangers and leave as friends!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
4  Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

We had a great visit with our hostess Mairead. The building is only four years old and it is beautiful - most definately the best B&B facility that we have stayed in. Mairead made us feel at home, recommended a lovely restaurant, served us a beautiful breakfast. the location is great for those transitting into Dublin from Kerry or Dingle as we were, or visa versa. Right by the main highway between Galway and Dubin. Truly a wonderful stay and would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

You will be so spoiled that you will wish all other B & B's and lodging are like Mairead's. We and all of our referrals have never been disappointed, be it at Mairead's former B & B in Bunratty or her new and beutiful home in Craghwell. It is truly a family atmosphere where one can relax and regroup from travelling around the countryside and nearby towns like Galway. My favorite recollection, years ago we're at Shannon preparing to depart, in the midst of U.S. Customs, when I swore I heard a woman calling "Noreen". Well, it turns out my wife left her Rosary Beads under her pillow, Mairead found them and ran them over to us at the Airport! That is a special person.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conley1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Mairade's house is elegant and comfortable. The best feature of the Craig House is Mairade herself. We stayed with her at her B&B in Bunratty several years ago. It was such an enjoyable experience that when we found she had relocated to Craig House we made sure our trip included a stay there. Only the location had changed, just east of Galway. The room was spacious and comfortable. The food was delicious. Mairade is a warm, endearing person who made us feel at home. We would highly recommend a stay at Craig House to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneillrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Returned for another week this year. Feels like we are staying with Family! We HAVE family in the area, so it's a great "jumping off" point for visiting AND touring. This year we took day-trip visites to Kong, where the "Quiet Man" was filmed, Connemara, The Burren (again), Athenry Castle and took the train into Galway City. We ate at the Village Inn, in Kilchreest, 3 times! That Friday night, we went to a music "session" there. Sunday night, we went to a Ceili dance in Craughwell at "Cheevers" Pub. It is just SO comfortable with Mairead and Tom and Kitty--the best of hosts. We just love "moving in" for a week and not having to pack and unpack moving from one B and B to another. SOOOO much to see and do within a day's travel. Looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sclaireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Our stay was one of the highlight of our trip. Before our trip to Ireland we had never stayed at a B&B anywhere. needless to say we were a little bit nervous and not quite sure if we would like it or not. because we were used to "A" list hotels with all the trimmings.
I don't mind telling you that our Craig House adventure was a real treat. The Batemans were so friendly, warm and welcoming that our apprehension vanished quick. In addition, the food was delicious and plentiful. Be sure to try the scones and jam.
we had a menu to select what we wanted for breakfast and the time we wanted to eat. That was definitely a great feature of B&B's. We now favor them over staying at a hotel. The bedrooms were more than ample and the connecting bathroom convenient and everything was spic and span. The beds were very comfortable and the country air was invigorating. We have to say that our stay with Mairead and Tom far exceeded out expectations. We can and do recommend Craig Country House without reservations. A wonderful home away from home for even a few days. The peaceful country setting is very relaxing after a day of sightseeing. You will need to have cash on hand to pay your bill which is quite reasonable for the ambience, personalized attention, comfort and good food. God willing we will return..

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We ended our trip to the Rose of Tralee Festival by treating ourselves to a two-night stay at Mairead Bateman Dempsey's Craig Country House. Our daughter, exhausted after her participation in the Festival as the Philadelphia Rose, was immediately enveloped with greetings, and wisked up to a private room for a much-needed rest. My husband mentioned his plastic bag of Guiness soaked clothing (due a mishap in a crowded pub) and before we knew it Mairead had the clothes in the washer after informing us that "Guiness stains". The rooms and baths are lovely, spacious and immaculately clean. The food and baking, all made from scratch, are just as delicious as on our first trip to her former B&B in Bunratty. At that time we arrived with 4 teenagers who were thrilled to see pancakes and hot chocolate on the breakfast menu. The pancakes are just as light and the scones, brown bread and croissants just as tempting. We have stayed at Mairead's with teenagers, cousins, friends, sisters, and sent siblings with young children. All agree that the service and environs are superb. Craig Country House is the perfect place to stay while exploring Ennis, the Burren, Galway and Roscommon. On our last morning's drive to Shannon Airport we all expressed our wish to return for another stay with Mairead. You will want to return too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noreen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
15.8 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
852 reviews
17.9 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
207 reviews
8.2 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cartron House Farm
Cartron House Farm
#3 of 8 in Loughrea
42 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lotties Villa
Lotties Villa
#5 of 8 in Loughrea
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Littlebrook House B & B
#4 of 8 in Loughrea
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Country House

Address: Garacloone | Craughwell, Loughrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Loughrea
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing