We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem”

Slieve Aughty Riding Centre
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Slieve Aughty Riding Centre in the west of Ireland offers horse riding and donkey walking, kids birthday parties, and pony rides for seasonal festivals or for the fun! The centre's 25 horses and ponies are suitable for everything from the nervous beginner to the advanced rider. Facilities include a 30x50 all weather outdoor arena, cross country course, and miles of trails for scenic treks. Beside the riding centre is The Three Towers Eco House and Organic Kitchen, where you can grab a bite to eat after your ride or stay the night as part of a package riding holiday. Ponies carry children to the Enchanted Forest and back, and riding can be booked by the hour or by the day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I love this riding centre. I live in Loughrea and always bring my family and friends to Slieve Aughty when they visit us. My sister visited this summer from Holland with her two girls aged 9 and 14, they were very taken with the place and as well as enjoying the Friday pizza night they also signed up for a half day workshop. They loved it and commented on how friendly and welcoming the place was not to mention good value for money. The food is wonderful and the whole atmosphere is second to none.

I would highly recommend a visit whether you are a local or a visitor it's a great place to add to your list of things to do.

Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther Z, Owner at Slieve Aughty Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Slieve Aughty Riding Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

''I know of the leafy paths that the witches take,
Who come with their crowns of pearl and their spindles of wool,
And their secret smile, out of the depths of the lake''

WB Yeats knew about the magic of Slieve Aughty and there isn't a place better situated to experience it for yourself, and what better way then to explore it on a horse.
From the sleepy fairy forest to the wide open paths perfect for a canter, and then into the murky well trodden trails for the more adventurous, it caters for everyone.

It is truly enchanting, from the beautiful centre itself to the fantastic hacking. The relaxed atmosphere and the facilities are second to none. Great value to take your own horse too.

Definitely a great place for visitors from outside Ireland to really enjoy the countryside.

I've attached a photo from my first visit back in 2011 where we were truly soaked to the skin and still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, its beautiful and magical, rain or shine. I've visited many times since and hope to again and again.

Thank Silverstork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther Z, Owner at Slieve Aughty Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We visited a few years ago (I can't select that far back on here!) for a 5 day long riding holiday, and stayed in the quaint cottage with views over the fields, since the guest house wasn't finished at that time (it looks amazing, I need to return to try it out!). The food was lovely homely, healthy grub and as a veggie I never struggled to feel completely satisfied and full which was brilliant. We rode every day, lessons and trail riding, and cross country jumping on the excellent course. The rides through the forest were enchanting, exploring scenery which i have never seen the likes of since. I will never forget the day long ride, in the rain, through gently dripping trees covered in emerald moss just like a film set. The people were so welcoming, and the quality of the lessons was great, they really know their stuff. I completely fell in love with the wild charms of Ireland on this trip and can't wait to return in the next couple of years.

Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther Z, Owner at Slieve Aughty Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Set in the most beautiful irish scenery - most friendly staff, delicious food & feel like this is your home - amazing!!!

Thank Fionnuala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther Z, Owner at Slieve Aughty Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spent a week in Slieve Aughty the middle of July this year, and this was not our first visit there. Again we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality, the coziness, the delicious food and the riding, of course. We did both trekking and took lessons in the arena. The trekking took us through a magnificent Irish forest, which is a great way to relax and forget all the troubles of everyday life, not to mention the opportunity to take in the air full of fresh flavor of flowers and pine trees. The groups are small and are generally fit to your level and desire, so we were able to trot and canter as well as walk, both in the forest depths and on more open paths. The horses are calm and friendly. Although perhaps not as relaxing, the lessons are also good; ideal for those who want to improve their skills. Speaking of which, I wish I were a more advanced rider and could have taken advantage of the cross-country course.
English lessons on site were very convenient for my daughter. It's always good to train your brain a bit, even on holidays.
The super cozy Three Towers is a perfect place to have a glass of beer in the evening and enjoy good company. Although there is no restaurant within walking distance, there is a small bar nearby where you can enjoy a drink and unwind. Though, truth be told, after a full day of riding your first and only instinct is to head off to bed and dream peacefully of the blissful next day's ride ahead of you.

1  Thank Nadia_Volkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slieve Aughty Riding Centre also viewed

 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Slieve Aughty Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing