We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back every weekend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 6 Loughrea B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Quin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I would go back every weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Thank you to everyone at Slieve Aughty Centre! I just spent the weekend with ten friends and all our own horses for a 40th birthday gettaway. I loved everything about it; the incredible forest trails, the delicious food or the relaxed atmosphere.
We all brought our own horses which were given comfortable stables (which were cleaned for us!) and the horses had plenty of hay and water. They let us know to bring our own hard feed. It has been raining for the last month but the trails were in great condition with plenty of water to get your horse used to riding through water. We were careful on the cross country course because the ground was so wet but the jumping lanes (two of them) are weather proof and so much fun. I am definitely bringing my horse back as soon as it is a little drier. We all arrived before lunch in time to take in a long hack and then back for a great (absolutely delicious) buffet lunch. It was all vegetarian and I am not a vegetarian but would be one if I could eat like that all the time. We headed back out to the trails after lunch and focused on the cross country jumps that were more weather proof. There are banks, steps, water obstacles, walls, logs, tyres, ditches, everything. Then in the evening after a much needed hot shower we had another delicious buffet. There was a meat option and it was all good. Fresh bread, hummus, pate, everything was so good.
I didn’t think I would eat for days, but the next morning I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Fresh bread with honey, chocolate spread, pate, cheese. I know it wasn’t a traditional Irish breakfast but I think it just adds to the charm and luxury of getting away. We all saddled up and went for another long hack after breakfast and we left at lunch time. There is a mud room at the side entrance where you can hang your coat and take your riding boots off and wash your hands. It adjoins the lounge where you can go in for a cup of tea and biscuit.
I know some people might like a tv or tea/coffee in their room, but I was made to feel so welcome and enjoyed myself so much I am sure I wouldn’t have even used those facilities. You can make your own tea in the bar lounge and anyone will stop and help you if you need anything. (There is wifi downstairs – so we got to share all our photos instantly on facebook with our friends that weren’t able to come!)
I prefer sleeping in larger beds, but we had such a good time trekking out twice on our horses, and feasting (and drinking!) that the twin room I shared with my sister was all comfort. I slept like a log. Though smaller than I am used to, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The whole place has so much character.
Thank you to Ester and her family and the whole team!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Guest Relations Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback here on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to greeting you in the future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent New Year's eve here with seven other friends. Had a great meal at great value, punchy organic wines, and dancing till 5 in the morning. We followed this with a very laid back New Year's Day - a very late breakfast of which the staff were completely accommodating, endless cups of tea and a lazy walk in mizzly rain along miles of forest roads. I look forward to returning in the summer to check out the horse-riding (head was not quite straight enough to partake that day) and more of the scenery. It has a very easy-going, friendly and laid back atmosphere which you will not find in most other accommodations. The unusual architecture and design of the main hotel and adjacent bungalows is both different and intriguing - something to catch the eye in every corner. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Find a cosy partner :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpidermanMyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Guest Relations Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback here on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to greeting you in the future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently stayed here on a hen party & thoroughly enjoyed it. Such a Lovely place with beautiful surroundings, a laid back relaxed atmosphere & great staff. We did a workshop for the afternoon & got very creative making masquerade masks which we wore to dinner that night :) Our lunch & dinner on the Saturday & breakfast the next morning were delicious. The rooms are spotless & very unique. Late check out on Sunday which was great! Really good value also. A couple of people had to cancel last minute & it was no problem, the ladies are really accommodating. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinKin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Guest Relations Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback here on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to greeting you in the future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had the buffet lunch here, great food in beautiful surroundings. Lunch included soup, a variety of vegetarian dishes, cheese, delicious bread and tea and dessert all included in the price so good value and plenty of food available. The restaurant is clean and very nicely decorated. Will definitely return. If only all buffet meals were like this!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ber b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Front Office Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our business. We are delighted that you were happy with our service and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Slieve Aughty Centre has a great location - very quiet and far away from motorways or bigger cities. We have booked the Honeymoon lodge (one of the little cottages) for 2 nights (and already paid the full price!). Unfortunately, at our arrival, we have been informed that this lodge is not free and we have to stay in a "normal room". We've stayed in the bridal suite - a nice and spacious room, but without any possibilities to prepare some food - not even a table or tea/coffee making facilities are available. This was simply not what we have booked and expected. We didn't get any discount, although the rooms are usually cheaper than the lodges.

In general, this centre seems to be a little bit chaotic, not very well organized. Painting works have been going on in the house. Breakfast should have been at 9 am, but didn't start before 9:30 am (this can really be a problem, if you have a two-year-old child with you...). On our day of departure, the reception lady was not there until 10.15, but someone else kindly helped us to check out.

We liked the surrounding very much and our son loved the horses and the other animals. All the people, especially in the stables, were very friendly. But the organization should be much more professional with regard to the prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ole_stern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Front Office Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
First of all we want to say thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us feedback from your stay. All customer feedback is greatly appreciated.
Admittedly there was a mix up with the accommodation availability which was our fault and it led us to offer you a room in the house. The Bridal Suite is genuinely the most beautiful room we have and the B+B rate for this room is the equivalent of the B+B rate for the Honeymoon Lodge. We do feel it is important to point out that you had selected and paid for B+B, therefore the option of cooking and preparing meals in the honeymoon lodge would not have been available to you. For this, you would need to book self catering.
Many guests have queried why we do not keep tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and this is down to our eco friendly ethos. Instead we provide tea/coffee making facilities in the Bar area of the main house. As this arrangement is quite unusual, we do make it very clear on our website.
After a very busy summer, we had begun maintenance work which involved painting the bedroom doors and we apologise if you felt this interrupted your stay.
We do feel we tried our best to ensure you were happy despite your change of accommodation and we asked you many times if everything was ok for your family. It is a pity you did not express your true feelings as we would genuinely have done our best to make the situation better.
Again, thank you for giving your feedback and we will use it to ensure certain situations don’t happen again. We do hope that you return to The Three Towers some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just back from Slieve Aughty. Loved it! Stayed in a little cottage just down the road from the main house, would have liked to stay in the eco lodges but they were fully booked. Cottage was best of both worlds, had use of the Three Towers facilities including breakast and free teas/coffees and just down road from the woods/nature trails. If you're into lots of peace and quiet, good wholesome organic food and a laid back vibe then this place is just heavenly. Because the owner and most of the staff and guests were foreign it felt like being abroad and the Moroccan style layout with fab eclectic artworks and furniture added to this.Having no t.v. was a big bonus it definitely helped us to switch off for the time we were there. Staff were helpful and welcoming in a low key ,unobtrusive sort of way. Olive and Jenny at the front of house were lovely. Definitely a hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hideedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Front Office Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here on a voucher and have been telling our friends about how wonderful it was it ever since.

The entire place is so thoughtfully and stylishly decorated, with luxurious bathrooms to match. No TVs in the rooms, but this wasn't a huge deal for us. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful without being pushy or over-involved. The food was amazing and all grown in the center's garden or locally sourced. It's served buffet-style and there's plenty of variety at each meal, so you couldn't possibly go hungry. We had to leave before breakfast was served on our last morning, and the staff made sure that some breakfast items were left out for us.

The only downsides: two twin beds were pushed together to form our double, which left an uncomfortable seem down the center (not so great for couples), and the wifi doesn't work in the rooms.

Definitely do a trail ride, even if you're a complete beginner, and pop into Loughrea for a quick stroll around the historic sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Front Office Manager at The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
6.7 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
8.7 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cartron House Farm
Cartron House Farm
#3 of 6 in Loughrea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lotties Villa
Lotties Villa
#4 of 6 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen

Property: The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen
Address: | Kylebrack, Loughrea, Ireland (Formerly The Three Towers @ Slieve Aughty Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Towers Eco House is a warm and welcoming place, designed to make you feel at home so you can relax, be inspired and enjoy good organic food in a natural environment. The Three Towers offers nine bespoke bedrooms designed with comfort and rustic luxury in mind. Also on the property are two Eco Lodges, available B&B, full board and self catering. The lodges can hold up to 3 and 6 guests. The centre offers horse riding, miles of scenic hiking trails through adjacent forestry, walks with donkeys, farm bike loan, outdoor hot tub, toddler playground, art and craft room and Enchanted Forest. Certified SILVER by eco-tourism Ireland and offering organic food (certified by the Irish Farmers and Growers Association), The Three Towers is a remote escape where you can spend quality time with family and friends and enjoy the beauty of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing